A Shot at Biscotti

All of this royal wedding talk-even though it’s been a week-makes me want to sit around on a front porch reading a good book over tea and crumpets.  I’m not even sure what a crumpet it so I settled for biscotti.  What I love about biscotti is that it’s not too sweet yet it satisfies a sugar craving.  Since cranberry-almond-flavored stuff is rocking my world right now, I had to transform that into an English dessert.  This recipe was adapted from Made Healthier and tweaked to throw in my Craisin obsession.

Mix 1 egg, 3 Tbsp iced coffee (a little extra caffeine never hurts), 2 Tbsp canola oil, 1/3 cup of sugar, and 1/2 tsp almond extract.  I’m a huge hater of almond extract-the smell, the taste, everything.  It reminds me of liquid cough medicine, so I reduced it to not even a 1/4 tsp.

After mixing, add 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup slivered almonds, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/3 cup craisins, and of course cinnamon and nutmeg-however much you think is necessary.  I tend to use a box of cinnamon per recipe, so I suggest you scale it down a tad.  I also added vanilla, because what is a baked good without vanilla??!

I popped it in the oven for 35 minutes at 300 degrees.  I took it out to cool and harden a bit before slicing it into what I consider biscotti-shaped parallelograms, and then reduced the temp to 275 and baked for 13 more minutes.

The final product I of course sprinkled with extra cinnamon…

If it had been any other time besides 10:30pm, I would’ve paired one with a nice hot cup of hazelnut coffee to reinforce the nutty flavor.  Since I’m not eating chocolate during the week, it was a great alternative for something sweet but not too sweet.

I wonder if throwing in almond butter would make it even better?  Most likely, because almond butter has the power to enhance any meal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

