Coffee & Running

Let me tell you the worst idea almost ever…

Running after drinking multiple cups of coffee.  Maybe it’s because I drink about 7 cups a morning on average, but my heart races all morning after chugging the stuff.  So, add running to that and my heart was hating me.  I’m humbled to say this was the first time I did not finish a full workout that I intended to.  Since the weather was so gorgeous today, especially for May in Texas, I strolled to the gym as a pre-warmup-warmup.

5-4-3-2-1 Run
2 minute warm-up – 4.0  (incline: 2.0%)
5 min 6.5
4 min 7.0
3 min 7.5
2 min 8.0
1 min 8.5

I repeated this once and was super sweaty so I took a 3 minute walk break 🙂 and then went for a 3rd go and had to stop after the 4 minute section!  I blame the coffee.  I finished off the workout with 10 minutes on the cross-trainer.

Overall, it was 4.82 miles on the treadmill and 0.80 miles on the cross-trainer.

For lunch I cooked up a mean veggie bowl-complete with lettuce, 1/2 avacado, mini carrots, grape tomatoes, sugar snap peas-all drenched in my staple, salsa.  I can’t seem to ever get enough of that Mexican flava.  For some post-workout protein I whipped up the easiest smoothie in the world-

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Coconut Smoothie
1 cup frozen raspberries
1 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
2 (large) Tbsp cocoa powder
2 Tbsp sweetened coconut flakes

Topped with extra coconut and slivered almonds.  It would’ve been even more perfect if there had been some almond butta in there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

