Chinatown

What I love most about living near such a big city is how cultures can seriously manifest around it.  I have a sudden passion for Asia-maybe it’s in my blood? ;)-but I had this sudden urge to check out Chinatown.

Of course, it was mostly a trip planned around eating, and that’s exactly what we did. I spent some sweet time with my brother, sister, and dad in this mini China country.  It’s crazy-right when you enter you really do feel like you’ve left America and are suddenly plopped on a completely different continent.

We started at a huge restaurant called The Ocean Palace.  I think we picked it because it was pretty much the only place that was named in English.

They’re known for their dim sum-as I’m sure every legit Chinese restaurant is.  Dim sum is basically small portions of food.  A couple ladies would walk around with huge carts packed with small plates of goodness-from dumplings to rice to meats and things I can’t relay to you because I have no idea what they were.  Nobody spoke English, so we just kind of had to guess and pray that nothing would kill us.

I think the one in the bottom left corner was barbeque pork (who knew that BBQ was popular in China??!!), the one on the right is some form of shrimp dumpling (absolutely to die for), and the one at the top was a sweet and sour meat.  They basically keep refilling your table when you run out, and since I can put food down like there’s no tomorrow, you better believe there was nothing leftover.  The food was very light and nothing was fried so when you’re full, it’s a good full.  Not like the full you experience after eating 17 slices of pizza.

This was the prize though.  I have no clue what the outside of these wondrous balls are and if I had to guess the inside was a mixture of crushed nuts and brown sugar.  Even though there was no chocolate involved, I’d gladly eat these every day for every meal.  So light yet just enough to satisfy my sweet tooth.

The one thing I actually know the name of is this baby.  Mango pudding.  Isn’t it the cutest dessert you’ve ever seen? See, presentation is everything.  Especially in this case because it made up for the awful texture and taste.  Worth the try…not something I would ever suggest ordering.  Maybe it’s because I’m not a sucker for jello/pudding textures to start with.  I like to have something to chew, otherwise I don’t feel like I’m eating anything at all.

After a huge lunch, we had to walk it off.  Fortunately there was Hong Kong City Mall right next door.  What I thought was a mall turned out to be even better…a huge supermarket, complete with imported Asian fruits, vegetables, fish, candy, everything an Asian-food fanatic drools over.

We left with some really high-quality food like Chocky sticks, sesame cookies, fortune cookies (in Chinese), and an assortment of candies.

Our trip was cut short due to some whiny teenagers who have no appreciation for culture.  It was so cool to get a sneak peak into a completely different world than the one I live in everyday and am definitely planning on making the hike out there to explore some more foodies and try to convince myself I’m in Asia.  This isn’t your average Pei Wei or PF Changs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

