The Greatest Show On Earth

Anxiety is killing me slowly as I wait for my new camera cord to arrive in the mail!  I’ve been dubbed a tourist by my brother-that’s how many pictures I’ve been taking recently and can’t wait to upload them.  Yesterday was go go go right from the start.  I had to be up at 5:30 (yes, on a Saturday) for work at a coffee shop.  I can’t lie though-I look forward to working.  Mostly because coffee is my main man, but I love the regulars, I love the conversations you can have over coffee, I love the connections, I love seeing the sun rise and hearing the birds chirp before the cars get going.

One thing I dislike alot though, is the hunger.  I’m used to eating small meals every 3-4 hours to maintain my metabolism and keep from getting starving and going on a binge.  Unfortunately, that’s not always an option, so by my lunch break I was hungry.  I hustled over to Schlotzky’s and picked up a chicken & guac wrap (hold the mayo) and wolfed it down like there was no tomorrow.  Packing lunch and dinner must be in order from now on.

I ran to the gym for a quick, and I mean quick, workout after work before heading back to school.  I somehow managed to squeeze in 30 minutes on the elliptical, plus the 10 minute run there and back.  I love to have a long workout-usually a circuit-on Saturdays, but when life gets in the way, I let it.  Working out used to be my top priority and I would blow off anything just to make sure I got a long enough workout in.  I’m diligently working to change my priorities to my friends and family instead, so I raced back to College Station to go to the circus and dinner for my friend’s birthday!

It’s been years since I attended the circus.  It was a summer tradition for my dad and I growing up, but I guess he figured I outgrew that phase a long time ago.  I’m somewhat ashamed to say that I haven’t outgrown it, and I enjoyed every second being there last night.  They’ve scaled it down alot though-cats have replaced tigers, dogs have replaced zebras.  They still had elephants, but even all of the acrobatic acts were on a much smaller scale than they used to be.

We withstood a one and a half hour wait at Cheddar’s after.  Even though we didn’t get seated until 9:15 (crazy late) it was worth it to indulge in their chips and salsa, which had a pineapple-y flavor to it so you better believe I loaded up on that.  I then enjoyed half of a Hawaiian Chicken Salad, and brought the rest home to enjoy for a quick dinner tonight.

I’m hoping to cook up something quick and easy like fish tacos tonight to go along with my salad.  My stomach has been asking for those for quite a while now and it’s time I give it an answer.

Recipes and pictures later!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

