You are Ever Faithful

“God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful.” -1 Corinthians 1:9

I’m guilty of compartmentalizing my life into semesters.  I feel like every new semester is a new beginning and when it ends, it’s time to start over.  Whether that’s a good or bad thing, I don’t know, but I love to take the time to reflect over what God has done through that semester.  And it’s about that time!

There’s no better way to describe what God was to me this semester than faithful.

faith·ful
[feyth-fuhl]
steady in allegiance or affection; loyal; constant 

It was a rough semester to say the least.  All of my closest friends from highschool who I thought would be in my life until the end suddenly vanished for one reason or another.  I experienced extreme loneliness, depression, confusion.  I had no trajectory for my life, I didn’t feel God anywhere near me.  I gave up on Him because I had felt like He gave up on me.  Obviously that’s not true, and over just the past few weeks I’ve received restoration and healing.

Finding that silver lining can be so hard some times, but there’s one that sticks out above all the others.  I’ve longed for a long, long time to have a deeper relationship with my family-specifically my parents.  God was SO faithful in that to me this semester, and I realize now that losing my friends was necessary for that to happen, going through darkness was so necessary…and while I didn’t see the purpose in it at the time, I do now.

It sucks to have no hope; it sucks to be going through something dark, whether you can explain the reason or not, and not know if there’s an end to it.  That’s how I felt for months, but coming out of that darkness I can surely say that God is so faithful.  He’s restoring old friendships, creating new relationships, giving me hope for a better summer, a better year next year.  He’s opened my eyes to the blessings that I’ve already received yet failed to notice because I was so blinded by my emotions.  I’m SO grateful for the time that I was able to spend with my family.  Grocery shopping with my dad became a sweet routine for us, spending a weekend with my mom cleaning and dining out was a memory I’ll never forget.  Conversations we had brought so much peace to my life and I owe all of the praise to God because it wouldn’t have happened on my own terms.

My heart is just rejoicing in the truth that God is faithful, all the time.

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. -Psalm 62:5,6

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

