Catch-Up on Eats

Is it possible to get sick of oats??  I’m scared that I will, because if that happens I’ll have to find another breakfast to look forward to.

Yesterday was my day off from the gym atleast.  My body was super sore from working 7 hours and then hitting up the gym and doing a new leg workout, so I decided it needed a break.

I started off the day with Raisin Bran Oats.  I went through a phase where all I ate was wheat bran flakes, plain.  Don’t ask why-I’ve had some weird food addictions.

Raisin Bran Overnight Oats

1/3 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/3 cup skim milk
heaping tsp of cinnamon
I left this baby in the fridge overnight without chia seeds because I wanted it to be more cereal-like and milky instead of thick and creamy.

In the morning, I added more cinnamon, 2 Tbsp raisins, and 1 cup All-Bran flakes.  A little extra milk was needed for the cereal appeal, and a bananananana on the side. Absolutely delightful-not too sugary like the Raisin Bran cereal, but definitely didn’t leave hungry due to the extreme amount of fiber!

To celebrate my momma, my family came up for a late lunch.  And by late I mean 2:30…so I snacked on quite a number of almonds and blackberries waiting around for them.  We went to the new Tony Roma’s in town.  Meh.  The food was okay, but not great for the price.  I ordered the Citrus Pesto Mahi Mahi-grilled fish with marinated artichoke hearts, tomatoes, and onions with a creamy pesto sauce, some rice pilaf and some steamed broccoli.  I can’t remember the last time I didn’t clean my plate, so I was pretty bummed that the food wasn’t even good enough to finish.

Thankfully, it kept me full for much longer than I expected so I didn’t have a real dinner.  After evening church I was craving some Quaker Oatmeal Squares.  I hesitate to buy cereal because I can put it down like there’s no tomorrow.  Even when I’m full and can’t taste the cereal anymore, I still find myself going back for eights and twelfths.  But in the season of not restricting foods, I decided to give in and just keep a tight reign on the box.

I was fully satisfied when I went to watch The Game Plan with two sweet friends over studying and coffee.  And Tostito chips.  Chips are another thing I don’t buy-mostly because they’re not what I like to waste my appetite on, but also because the salt is addicting.  I have more of a salt tooth than a sweet tooth, just like my grandma.  Maybe I should have Salt Fridays instead of Chocolate Fridays?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

