HALLELUJAH for RAIN!  Houston has literally seen rain maybe once in the past 5 months?  While thunderstorms used to scare the living heck out of me due to the massive tornado in Wizard of Oz, I now love rain.  Especially at night as I’m falling asleep, it’s just so peaceful!  Unfortunately I have to work in half an hour, otherwise you could find me snuggled up on the couch reading a book over some hot tea.  I’m like a 55 year old post-menopausal woman stuck in a 20-year old body.

I woke up feeling not too great, but not too shabby after last night.  The chips were like a peace of lead settled in my stomach, so I settled for a bowl of Special K Blueberry cereal for breakfast and lots and lots of coffee.  The chips also served as a motivator for me to get my booty to the gym mid-morning instead of going back to bed.  I love finding new workouts to do to switch up the monotonous routine, it makes working out so fun!

I got this workout from What Kelly Said and thought it was so fun and such an easy way to incorporate all the major muscle groups without being stuck in the sweaty gym for hours. You do30 exercises for 30 reps each and voila!  Your body will thank you later.

I started off on the treadmill alternating running and walking on some serious incline.  For a total of 20 minutes, I increased the incline by 1.0 and did 1 minute of walking, 1 minute of jogging.  I was dead afterwards but quitting isn’t my thing so I moved onto the circuit.

30 x 30
pushups
crunches
alternating jump lunges
lat pull-downs
side planks (15 each side)
squats (w/ 10 lb weights)
Russian twist (10 lb med ball)
curls (8 lbs each hand)
plank on feet and elbows
tricep rope pushdown
floor bridges
plie squats w/med ball
windshield wipers
dumbbell pistons
downward dog w/30 leg raises
V-ups
deadlift
chest press (5 lbs each hand)
back machine
standing medicine ball twists
bench dips
mountain climbers
step-ups (30 total)
reverse lunges
suicide planks (Oh baby..)
bird dogs
ball hamstring curl
Supermans (so good for your back, make sure not to over do it!)
frog crunch

I do realize this wasn’t a total of 30 exercises, but I could tell my body had had enough.  Next time, I’m shooting for all 30.

I threw a quick lunch together right after because my stomach was talking (loudly) to me.

Don’t judge me until you try it.  I don’t know what’s up with my sudden obsession with Mexican dishes.  This was just a whole-wheat tortilla, some ricotta (in place of sour cream), salsa, blackbeans some mozzarella cheese thrown in the microwave for 30 seconds.  I added a side salad and a non-Greek non-fat blueberry yogurt.

I’m off to work!  Hopefully it’s not too slow today, I’m in the mood to make me some coffee!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “

  1. YAY!!! So glad you liked it! I need to do it again! Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

