CF #2!

HOW could I forget that it’s Chocolate Friday??!!  There’s only been one full day of summer and I’ve already lost track of what day it is.  As soon as I snapped into it and I realized it’s FRIDAY, I immediately dug into a salted dark chocolate chip cookie from last week.  YUM.  Still tasted just as fresh as last week.  Thankfully my family has been depleting that pile of goodness so I can make something else later on 🙂

I spent the morning whipping up my very first homemade pizza.  I’m working again tonight and normally I just bring a pb sandwich and a side salad or we order out, but I’d like to bring a nutritious dinner and put as much effort into that as I would if I were eating at home.

I found this completely awesome recipe that incorporates eggplant into a pizza from Girl Meets Life.  It’s a whole wheat crust, a pesto & ricotta sauce, topped with roasted eggplant, asparagus, onions, garlic and chicken.  Win.

Chicken Eggplant Pizza
Crust:
1.5 cups whole-wheat flour
1/2 Tbsp sugar
1/2 Tbsp yeast
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup water

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix the dry ingredients in a small bowl.  Slowly, add the 1/2 cup water while stirring.  As the dough gets thicker, mix with your (clean) hands and form a ball.  You might need a tad bit extra water to hold it all together, but make sure you don’t add too much water or it will be too liquidy. Shape the dough into a ball and let it sit for about 15 minutes.

Chop about 1/2 cup eggplant, 1/2 cup asparagus, sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Pop in the oven for 15 minutes.

I used one small chicken breast for this recipe and that was even too much. I pan-seared it for the fastest cooking (in a little bit of EVOO) and left it on 6 minutes each side to ensure it was cooked all the way through.

Chop 1/4 onion and mince one clove of garlic, saute over the stove in a little EVOO but don’t let the onions caramelize all the way-this is all going in the oven so you don’t want it to be cooked thoroughly.

Roll out the dough ball into a circle, star, rectangle, hexagon-whatever shape you enjoy your pizza in.  Mix 1/2 cup ricotta (I used fat-free) and 2 Tbsp basil pesto sauce, and spread this over the crust.  Top with the roasted vegetables, shredded chicken, and the onion/garlic mix.  Sprinkle a little shredded mozzarella over the top to hold everything together and I stuck this in the oven (still at 400) for 17 minutes.

Pre-roasting

Post-roasting

PS – Sorry for all the tin foil in the pictures.  It’s somewhat blinding, but I’ll do anything to lighten the load of dishes!

I could eat this stuff by the spoonful-let's just pretend like I didn't

Finished Product

Can't wait to dig into this tonight!

Resisting the temptation to eat all of the pizza right away, I quickly threw together a sandwich with turkey, havarti cheese and thin slices of fresh zucchini.  I grilled it on my George Foreman grill to melt the cheese and loaded my plate with some fresh fruit.  Summer really makes me crave grapes and berries-thankfully our fridge is stocked with both.

Why yes, that is a piece of dark chocolate.  I only ate half the sandwich so I’d have enough room to eat the chocolate and enjoy it.  And enjoy it I did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

