Yoga Again

Good morning!  I LOVE not having to set an alarm, even though my body wakes me up no later than 7 anyways.  It feels so good to sleep without anything to worry about. After yesterday’s workout, my body was craving some good stretching.  I started doing hot yoga this semester at a place called Innovative Fitness and fell. in. love.  If you haven’t heard of hot yoga, it’s basically doing yoga in a small, heated room (about 95 degrees) and boy do you sweat.  I already sweat alot as it is, so I leave that place feeling like I just showered in, well, a massive pool of sweat.  But it’s amazing and you feel so clean afterwards.  But I’ve bought into the lie that yoga isn’t a good workout.  I have it in my mind that if I’m not running or doing something extremely cardio-intensive then I’m not getting a good enough workout in.

False. I picked up a yoga DVD a couple months ago and decided to give my body a break and stretch it out.  And I got plenty of cardio in.

There weren’t as many asanas as I like, but it worked my core wonderfully and I was sweating just after a few minutes.

If you’re interested in taking up yoga, it’s so worth your time.  My favorite run-to website and blogs about yoga-like new routines, songs, benefits, poses, whatever-it Yoga Journal.  You can pretty much find anything in the world about yoga, it’s a whole new world.

Breakfast was easy as I prepped oatmeal last night and left it in the fridge overnight for a cool, refreshing breakfast.  I just can’t get myself to eat hot breakfasts in the summer after a workout.

1/3 cup oatmeal overnight with 1/3 cup skim milk and 1/3 cup water and 1 Tbsp chia seeds.  This morning I added some more milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg.  As much as I tried to resist, I ended up smashing the banana in there for some banana milkshake flava.

So about 6 months ago I decided to give up running as a competition and just do it for recreational/health purposes.  I’ve been itching to get out and run another race though, so after searching long and hard for an online training program to keep me motivated, I decided on SmartCoach.  I don’t have a particular race in mind yet, but it gave me a 3 month training plan that I’m super excited to start tomorrow!

I work again tonight, so to make up for a lack of cooking dinner, I’m spending the morning creating some new muffin recipes!  Updates later, have a splendid, sunny morning!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

