Multi-Muffins

Today is absolutely GORGEOUS.  It’s 72 degrees, sunny, and there’s a nice breeze.  I knew I needed to take advantage and go on a long run, but I decided to give up on delay my workout to make some muffins that have been stuck in my head for the past few days.

I based my recipe off of Betty Crocker’s Cookbook but changed a few things and changed the flavors.  I made all of the batter, then divided it into three and added different things to get more variety.  I’d much rather have 6 muffins in 3 different flavors than 18 muffins that are allllll the same.

Multi-Muffins

Muffin batter:
1 2/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup vegetable oil (I used 2/3 cups applesauce)*
3 tsp vanilla
4 eggs
3 cups whole-wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon (+ extra, I’m a cinnamonaholic)
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp baking powder

*Applesauce is an awesome substitute for butter or oil to hold baked goods together, but it does add flavor.  I was hoping for a sweet apple flavor to complement all 3 muffins so it worked out, but if you don’t want any apple flavor at all, use 1/2 cup canola oil instead.

Zucchini Walnut:
1 cup shredded zucchini
1/2 cup chopped walnuts + extra for topping

Cranberry Carrot:
1 cup shredded carrots
Fresh or dried cranberries for topping

Banana Almond:
1 overripe banana, mushed
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 tsp lemon juice

I made all of the batter, divided it among 3 bowls and then added the respective ingredients for each type of muffin.  Mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, and then slowly fold the dry into the wet.

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, making sure they don’t get too brown before the time is up so watch carefully.

Dry ingredients

The Wet

On the left is the carrot cranberry and on the right is the banana almond

Banana Almond

Carrot Cranberry

Zucchini Walnut

The carrot cranberry were my favs, but all 3 were fantastic.  The applesauce made them really moist and hey, they all have a fruit/veggie, whole grains and protein!  A full meal, all wrapped up in a small, unflattering muffin.

When I finally got my butt out the door, I did a 3.20 mile jog to soak up some sun for my pale skin and enjoyed every second of it despite the muffin batter sitting like a piece of lead at the bottom of my stomach.  Then I walked the 1/2 mile to the gym and did a 30-minute elliptical workout so I could read

I’m loving this book and flying through it like it’s going to disappear when I wake up tomorrow.

I got my workout from Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life and really liked how there wasn’t too much resistance yet it wasn’t a total breeze.  I finished off with some abs on the stability ball and called it quits for the day.

My family has a tradition of going to Chick-Fil-A for lunch on Saturdays-we’ve been doing it for as long as I can remember, so I got a Southwest Chicken Salad and of course, had to have a couple fries.  Then, I went with my mom to look at new diamond rings.  My first experience in a real jewelry store left me, well, somewhat lonely and hopeful at the same time.  Hopefully I’ll be getting married someday and will get to pick out a ring for myself!

The kitchen will be shared between me and my dad tonight as we cook fish tacos for the fam.  Fish tacos=tacos that I hope are made in heaven.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

