Today was such a lazy day.  As crazy as it sounds, I somewhat miss having something to do at all hours of the day like during school.  I definitely got some good reading time in today and some good kitchen time, of course.

I started out the day with a cereal bowl-Special K Chocolately Delights, Kashi Honey Almond Flax, and some raw oats-which wasn’t even worth noting.  I try to stay away from cereal as much as possible because I can go back for bowl after bowl after bowl.  If I had to confess to an addiction, it would be cereal.  No lie.  Luckily I used every ounce of self-control that I could muster and had a bowl of fresh berries after instead of 8 extra helpings of cereal.

For lunch I whipped up some fake spaghetti with a fresh spaghetti squash I nabbed at the grocery store this weekend.

I boiled the squash for 20 minutes, then stripped it and only used about half of the “meat” from half of the squash.  (PTL for leftovers!)  I added a cup of fresh cooked spinach, about 1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese, and about 1/4 cup marinara sauce.

It’s even better than spaghetti.  I promise.  And it’s light, so it’s the perfect midday meal for a day when I don’t feel the need to carb-load for a workout 😉

I took a trip to Costco with my parentals today, mostly to try all the samples they have stationed around the store.  I tried everything from naan to gelato to hummus to gummy candies.  I left the store with a full tummy and some good raw foods that I can’t wait to start using.  Grocery stores around here don’t carry things like quinoa, buckwheat, flax, and alot of other raw and natural foods that I love.  Let’s just say I stocked up today!

Larabars on sale? Don't mind if I do!

I came home craving oats and peanut butter, as I usually do, so I mixed up 1 Tbsp raw oats and 1 Tbsp almond butter and shoveled that down before Cooking Lesson #1 with some friends!

Peach Cobbler was on the menu for tonight.  A simple recipe that’s perfect for those who know nothing about the kitchen!  We had a blast picking up the few groceries needed, peeling and slicing peaches, and whipping up a homemade traditional Southern dessert for my friend’s mom’s birthday.

Clumsily peeling fresh peaches

Yes, aprons were so necessary

Proud of his masterpiece!

I have to say again how simple the recipe was!  And healthified, thanks to Gina’s Skinny Recipes.

Peach Cobbler Crisp

8 small, fresh peaches-peeled and sliced
1/4 lemon, zest and juice
2 tsp cornstarch
1/4 cup agave

Combine these ingredients in a small bowl and make sure the fruit is coated evenly.  Pour into a baking dish and spread out to cover the bottom.

1 cup quick oats
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon (+ more for cinnamonaholics)
1/4 cup melted butter (canola oil can easily be substituted)

Mix in a separate bowl to get a crumbly mixture.  Pour evenly over the peaches and pack it down.  Pop it in the oven at 375 for 40 minutes.  It’ll be done cooking when the edges turn golden and the peach juice underneath will be bubbling.  And you can smell it, that’s a good sign 🙂

Although I didn’t get to taste it cause he took it straight home to mama, I can bet a million bucks that it was a treat for the tastebuds.  Any type of fruit crisp I’m a sucker for, mostly because I love the topping.  Maybe cause it’s oat-loaded?

Luckily I saved room for the homemade chocolate chip cookies my sister baked tonight after dinner.  I know, I know.  It’s not Chocolate Friday…but I did give in and have a few fingerfuls of dough AND a copious amount of soft and stinkin’ hot cookies.  Grace is a good thing-but no chocolate until Friday!

And to follow up on my “day-off” post earlier, I really enjoyed today not worrying about fitting the gym into my schedule.  My body needed a break and it felt good to give it what it was asking for without feeling bad about it.  Hopefully I can get back on track with working out and eating right again this week.  I know I’ve talked to so many girls about this before, but it’s easy to eat healthy when you’re in the habit of doing so.  As soon as you break the habit though and give into a couple cravings (this happens when I come home from school every time) it’s hard to get back into that routine of eating healthy.  This weekend has been a bombardment of not-so-healthy foods, but tomorrow is a new day and there’s always wiggle room when it comes to food!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

