Spice Cake Oats

This is the dog version of what I look like right now

Right now I’m in what I like to call a summer coma.  My ideal lazy summer day consists of a good book, a steaming cup of bold coffee, a ’90s show on TV, and a sunny day where I can lay under the shade by the pool partaking in all of the above.  I’m not ashamed to be lazy today.

This morning I headed to the gym and what a glorious morning it was.  I love seeing God in nature, and this morning definitely drew my attention to our awesome Creator-the clouds were puffy, dark and layered, the birds were singing, and it was so peaceful.  I started off with a HIIT workout on the elliptical.

Elliptical HIIT

Time

Resistance

0-5

6 (warm-up)

5-25

20 sec @ 15; 40 sec @ 7

25-30

4 (cool-down)

I then did 2.5 rounds of an upper-body circuit:

20 overhead press
10 burpees
50 Russian twists with med-ball
20 chest presses on stability ball
10 pushups
20 seconds mountain climbers
20 lat pull-downs
20 bent-over rows
10 pushups
60 second plank
15 overhead tricep press

And by 2.5 rounds, I did the full circuit twice and the last time I cut everything in half.  I did some abs on the stability ball and then cooled down on my walk home.

I came home with a raging tummy so instead of making protein pancakes like I planned, I quickly cooked up some oats.  In order not to get sick of oats, which I highly doubt could ever happen,  I’ve been trying to come up with new combos.  I saw a box of Spice Cake mix in our pantry and attempted to convert it into oatmeal.  Great success.

Spice Cake Oats
1/3 cup oats
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup water (+ extra if you like your oats more liquidy)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground giner
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp allspice
1 Tbsp raisins

I also put a heaping Tbsp of almond butter on top for some good fats and like I said, I love liquidy oats, so I trick my mind into thinking I’m eating cereal by adding extra milk.

Another great thing about summer-BERRIES.  Worth every last penny every time.

I added about 2 Tbsp plain Greek yogurt to the berries for some extra protein in hopes that I would stay FULL until lunch.  Another success so far.

This may or may not be what I’m watching right now as I read my book (Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult) and chugging sipping on some coffee.  I don’t know if you remember this show, but Will Smith has had my heart ever since.

This book is calling my name, books and I get separation anxiety real fast.  More recipes later!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

