A Sweet Reunion

I have a confession: it’s 10:48 am and I’ve already taken a nap.  I don’t know where my energy ran off to, but I woke up planning on heading straight to the gym and just could not do it.  Now I’ve heard different opinions about what to do when you just don’t feel like working out.  Some say you shouldn’t force yourself if your heart’s not in it, but I’ve always been one to force myself to just do it because I know how much better I’ll feel after.  I know for me, if I make a lousy excuse (like I’m tired or just “don’t feel like going”) I’ll use that excuse day after day and before you know it, I’ll be 700 pounds overweight and stuck to my couch.  So, I did get to the gym (after going back to bed) but that dilemma was weighing on my mind the whole time.  Regardless, I completed a new Treadmill Tuesday routine and did a small leg circuit.

Incline & Speed Pyramid

Time

Speed

Incline

0-2 (warm-up)

4.3 1.0

2-3

6.5 1.0

3-4

6.5

2.0

4-5

6.5

3.0

5-6

6.5

2.0

6-7

6.5

1.0

7-8

6.7

0

8-9

7.1

0

9-10

7.5

0

10-11

7.1

0

11-12

6.7

0

32-35

4.0

4.0

Repeat minutes 2-12 twice, for a total of 3 times.  The workout covered 3.72 miles in the 35 minutes.

Lower Body Circuit
50 step-ups
50 reverse lunges
25 plie squats
(Repeat once)

10 squat jumps
10 leg press
10 calf raises
(Repeat once)

———-

So I have all of this leftover spaghetti squash so I’ve been eating it for every meal minus breakfast.  Yesterday’s concoction was delicious, although I’m sure it’s hard to find a spaghetti squash recipe that’s not delicious.

Into the mix went about 1/2 cup spaghetti squash, eggplant, asparagus, carrots, red peppers, cabbage, spinach, and zucchini.  I topped it with some marinara sauce and lots and lots of cottage cheese.  I love subbing cottage cheese for ricotta because it’s the same texture but soo much more protein so I stay fuller longer, which is a goal for most meals!

I ❤ chopping

I had a zucchini walnut muffin as a dessert and for some carbs.  I find that if I just stick to all veggies for a meal, I’ll be hungry again within the hour.

Dinner last night was a lovely reunion with my two best friends.  One moved to Oklahoma a year ago and we’ve only gotten to see him once since then, so it was such a treat to be able to spend some sweet time with them again last night.  I love that even though people change and life goes on, there’s always those few people you can always come back to and things really never do change between you.

Gulf Shores, Alabama

We went to a local place called Newk’s-a soup and sandwich luncheon place.  My mouth was telling me a portobello mushroom salad, but I chose a Greek salad instead.  I was somewhat disappointed-it was LOTS of lettuce, some banana peppers, artichokes, tomatoes, feta and kalamata olives-there wasn’t too much flavor and the lettuce was just so overwhelming.

Naturally, I had to dig into the box of Nilla Wafers and Spongebob Squarepants HoneyMaid graham crackers afterwards to make up for the sucky salad.

I went to bed full of joy from being reunited with such great friends and so excited that God’s been so faithful in reconnecting me with old friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

