Snackytime

Breakfast is straight up my favorite meal of the day.  I put the most thought into breakfast and would eat breakfast for every meal…if only that was socially acceptable.  Maybe this stems from my love of the morning.

I was so impressed by my pancakes yesterday I decided to try another healthy dessert breakfast from Chocolate Covered Katie.  (And again, her pics are WAY better than mine!)

Cinnamon Banana Baked Oatmeal
Courtesy of Chocolate-Covered Katie

  • 1/2 cup oats (I used old-fashioned)
  • dash of salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp agave nectar (if you don’t want it sweetened, leave this out)
  • 1/4 cup mashed banana
  • 1/4 milk or water (I used skim milk for some good ol’ calcium)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Bake this in a 380 degree oven for 20 minutes.  Immediately drown it in peanut butter so it can melt.  Let cool for 5 minutes and dig in while still warm!

I have to admit that I wasn’t too too excited about this because if I have oats in the morning, I like them COLD.  Thankfully, being unprepared comes in handy, because I got to try this lovely creation this morning!  Definitely a winner.  I topped it off with some Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB (when will this jar ever run out??) and extra cinnamon. Served with a HUGE bowl of berries and leftover banananana.  Thanks Summer for the perfect berries!

This is the part of breakfast where I get really sad that it’s almost over and I only have 2 bites left…and then I have to wait a whole 24 hours to do it all over again.

—–

People ask me alot what I do for a “healthy snack.”  I work in a coffee shop where our shifts are 8 hours long, and I don’t always get a chance to sit down and have a nice meal.  While my first response is MAKE YOUR OWN granola bars or granola balls or something of the sort, I also know that convenience is something we base our lives off of.  Making some fresh granola bars don’t always fit well into our schedules.  Here’s some protein/meal bars that I run to when I need a pick me up and don’t have the time to make a yogurt & granola bowl or sit down and eat a piece of juicy, messy fruit.

These are def my faves.  I hate looking at the ingredients of a packaged food and seeing 200 things listed, and I’ve only heard of 2 of the ingredients.  These are the most natural bars that I’ve been able to find pre-packaged; the ingredients are all natural and there’s nothing artificial, processed, or fake about them.  And they come in awesome flavors-peanut butter cookie being my favorite.

These are SO filling, which is something I really do base my food opinions off of.  I wouldn’t use them as a so called ‘meal replacement’ like they’re advertised for, simply because I believe in eating healthy, balanced meals, but they are good when you’re trying to make it through long, dull hours before you can eat a real meal.

Packed with protein and taste like raw cookie dough…need I say more?

Kashi doesn’t have the most protein-packed bars, but they have the best flavors (besides Larabars).  Pumpkin pie, year-round.  Hello.  Most protein bar brands have mostly chocolatey flavors, which I hate because I can only eat those on Fridays.  Kashi is light, non-chocolate, and has nuts in it to keep you full.  Gotta love 7 whole grains on a mission!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

