Sushiiiiiiii

 Listen up guys…if you want to know the way to my heart, this is all it takes.  A big, heaping plate of fresh sushi.  I am a sushi FANATIC.  I hope to live in, or atleast visit long-term, Japan someday just so I can eat real sushi all day everyday.

Not only is it beyond tasty, it’s also quite beneficial for your health.  Unfortunately in America, we’ve taken sushi and added our own things to it-like cream cheese and mayo-which can ruin the health factor, but there are still healthy options that will rock your world.

I went to a moving sushi bar for the first time last night with some sushi-loving friends.

It wasn’t the best quality sushi, but it was fun and a nice change of pace.  Here are some of the things we got.  We tend to stay away from the philly roll (loaded with cream cheese) and tempura rolls (which are fried).  I promise there are some healthy options!

Edamame.  Boiled soybeans.  Most of the time smothered in salt.  In Japan, arajio is the salt that’s most commonly used and is a natural sea salt.  If you’re allergic to soy, obviously don’t try them, but for those of you who don’t have an excuse, they’re loaded with protein, dietary fiber, omega-3 fatty acids, and good carbs.  They’ll also leave you full to the brim, and that’s coming from me.

California Roll.  Probably the most common sushi roll you’ll find.  Possibly because it’s amazing?  And probably because it was developed in America in the 1970s.  Rice, seaweed, avocado, imitation crab, and cucumber wrapped up in a bite-size roll.  Each roll typically has between 200 and 300 calories depending on how many pieces they give you.  One benefit of going to a moving sushi bar is that the serving sizes are only 4 pieces instead of the typical 8-12 piece rolls you’ll find in a sit-down sushi restaurant.  AND you get some green veggies in there!  Win.

Spicy Tuna Roll.  Tuna packs in the most protein out of any other fish.  Don’t fear the “spicy” part of it, it has zing but not to the point where it’s unmanageable.

Spider Roll.  I had to splurge.  I don’t typically get any type of sushi that has the awful word FRIED in it, but I also can’t resist eel sauce.  It has fried softshell crab, avocado, cucumber and mine was topped with eel sauce.  Sounds gross?  Yes, but don’t knock it til you try it.  You don’t want to know the nutritional info, so I’ll leave you guessing.

Red Snapper.  So this is what real sushi looks like.  The rolls are great, but when Japanese say sushi, THIS is what they’re talking about.  I know alot of people can’t stand the thought of eating raw fish but I swear you’ll be pleasantly surprised.  Hiding underneath that baby is a cube of rice.  Dip it in soy sauce and boom…3-ingredient meal.  If you’re going for healthy, this is what you want to look for.  There are no added fat or carbs because there isn’t hidden mayo or dressings or anything like that.

Salmon.  I can’t get enough of it…cooked, raw, burned.  You name it, I’ll eat it.  So rich in omega-3 fatty acids and one of the more flavorful of sushi fish.

This wasn’t on our menu last night, but how cool is that!  Little did I know that sushi is a form of art.  Is it wrong to eat Obama’s face?

Super cool too.  I wish I could say I wouldn’t eat them cause they’re so pretty, but I would be lying.  Hopefully I’ll learn this technique in culinary school.

Don’t be afraid of sushi.  Give it a chance.  But don’t let anyone convince you that wasabi is guacamole and the ginger is ham.  Been there, done that, and it’s not fun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

