Bring Your Own Sunshine

I’ve decided today is going to be a good day.  Even though I have to work all day, even though it’s hot as hades outside, even though I haven’t been extremely disciplined when it comes to eating, I’m making the conscious choice to make today great.

“A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly.  You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”  ~Roald Dahl

“Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine.”  ~Anthony J. D’Angelo

It’s amazing how much of a difference attitude can have on our days.  No matter what you’re going through today and how much you’re hurting, seek the good things.  They won’t always be easy to find or right up in your face, but it’s the little things that can make all the difference.  A positive attitude not only can improve your day, but others’ around you.  Never hesitate to put a smile on your face!

—–

Today is great because I started it off with a workout.  Let’s back up though.  Last night was a foodie’s heaven.  My family went out to a place called Straits, a Singaporean restaurant.  I was born in Singapore, so my parents are very familiar with the cuisine and culture, so we had to try this place out! We all ordered a plate and split everything; roti prata, chicken satay with peanut sauce, chili crab, wok-fired eggplant (my dish-the BEST), spicy basil chicken, coconut curry, and some egg noodles.  I failed at taking pictures-it was too appealing to wait to dig into.

Chili Crab

One of my old food rules used to be: No eating out.  As convenient as it is, I couldn’t handle not being able to control what was on my plate, what the food was cooked in, and portion sizes.  I blew off friends and family time after time just so I could eat in the comfort of my own home where I could control everything.  Looking back, it’s sad how much I missed out on because of this.  So last night, going out to what I knew would be a huge and not-so-healthy dinner freaked me out.  I took a step back and convinced myself that:

My family is more important than what I eat.
I don’t eat like that every meal, so it’s okay to splurge.
I don’t need to exercise excessively after the meal or the next morning to burn off this “forbidden food”.
It is possible to enjoy time over a meal without subconsciously counting calories.

And it was glorious!  Yes, I ate much more than I normally would.  I ate fried food.  AND to top it all off, we rushed over to Red Mango for some froyo afterwards.  I filled my bowl up with hazelnut (OK), amaretto (yuck), and dark chocolate (win).  I was somewhat disappointed with their froyo and toppings selection, but beggars can’t be choosers.

If this had been 6 months ago, I would’ve gone to bed literally in tears and ready to wake up the next morning for a long, hard workout to punish myself.  But this morning was just like any other morning.  I headed to the gym to get some exercise in to be healthy, but not with the intention of burning off the food.

I chose to be happy and to be at peace instead of beating myself up this morning.  I chose to make today good even though I’m inclined to fall into a pit of darkness and wallow in it all day because of what I ate yesterday.

Today’s workout was arms and a touch of cardio.  I used this workout from Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices.  My arms were tired but it felt good to focus on them-they’ve been missing some long overdue attention!  I then did 20 minutes on the elliptical and called it a day.

I came home to oats in a jar, thanks to some prepping last night.  As sad as I am when a jar of pb runs out, I can’t help but get a little excited that I can have oats soak in pb all night.  I didn’t take a picture because hey, I’m lazy, and when there’s food I don’t waste time.

Let me share my lunch today with you, even though I haven’t made it yet.  I had it yesterday and I must repeat it again today.

A can of tuna mixed with chopped spinach, arugula, onions, avocado, cucumber, salt, pepper, and a dash of fat-free ranch dressing.  I toasted a piece of whole-wheat bread, melted some swiss cheese over it and bam!  This lovely, colorful creation resulted.  Like I said, I’m repeating it again today because it was that good.

 

Question:
Have you ever felt the need to excessively exercise after eating alot?  How do you deal with those kinds of thoughts? 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bring Your Own Sunshine

  1. Thanks for trying my workout 🙂 Hope you liked it!!
    & mmmmm dark chocolate fro yo- YES please 😉

  2. Congrats on not beating yourself up over the food! That’s the best thing we can do in my opinion. Keep moving on with HEALTH and a big part of health is our attitude. Great job! And thanks for commenting on my blog so I could come say hello. 🙂

Leave a Reply

