Rest Shmest

[/source]

Rest, shmest.

I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

“A life of leisure and a life of laziness are two things. There will be sleeping enough in the grave.” -BFranklin

Why is it the cool thing in our society to be lacking in sleep?  Why does a nap make a person lazy?  Working in a coffee shop, I see a massive daily craving for caffeine because people jot down sleep as the last thing on their to-do list.  I’m a nap girl.  I become a cranky 2-year old when I’m tired, and a good day follows a full night of sleep.  But our society is always GO GO GO, and to take the time to rest is a bigggggg no-no.  During the school year, people ask me how I can possibly take the time to take a short nap when I should be studying/socializing/doing-whatever-else-normal-college-kids-do.

[source]

I get caught in the lie that caffeine and sugar can substitute rest.  It’s easy to convince myself that I can function for a full 20-hour day and then sleep the other 4 and expect to be good to go with a couple cups of coffee.  False!  Today was a good reminder of how important it is to rest-especially from exercising.

[source]

An old rule:  Don’t you dare take a day off, or my body will turn on me and blow up ten pounds.  Welp…in all of the days I’ve taken off since I broke that rule, I have never gained extra weight.  Normally I dub Sunday as my rest day, but my body was seriously screaming at me today to just take the day off from the gym.  I tend to feel guilty when I don’t exercise, but the next day I thank myself for listening to my body.  I know this will be the case tomorrow.  Today was one of those “I feel fat” kind of days-but I challenged myself to take the day off despite that because my body was tired.  Not just tired, but exhausted.  I took today to give my body the healing and rejuvenation it was asking for so tomorrow I can start fresh and new!  Not to mention the physical benefits of resting-like muscle repair, letting your cardiovascular system recover, finding renewed motivation, and so forth.

This was huge for me.  I deviated from my “schedule” of taking Sundays off and took a Thursday off.  Mind-blowing, right?

So if you’re body is asking for rest, give it what it wants!  In the long run, it pays off.  Don’t convince yourself to press forward through the tiredness when really, you’ll benefit so much more from taking a short rest.  My challenge for myself this weekend is to REST! Even if it’s a 20-minute nap, I’m going to work into my schedule the time to lay back and relax…my body will thank me one day 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

