Fogo de Chow

No words describe the meal I had at lunchtime today.

A lunch date with my brother at Fogo de Chao. A great excuse to get dressed up (into a dress of course, to allow my stomach to expand without having to suck in 😉

An unlimited salad bar.  I started off with lots of green veggies to equal out the juicy pounds of meat I was preparing to consume.  Half of the stuff I snagged was new to me, and I still don’t know what it was.  Nevertheless, it was all delicious.  The smoked salmon, fresh mozzarella with sun-dried tomatoes, and portobello mushrooms were my favs.

The servers walk around with massive skewers of meat, so when your “meat card” is turned to the green side, they cut off a hunk of whatever they’re serving and continue to bombard you with food until you turn the car to red.

The meat was phenomenal.  I don’t crave red meat alot, and I don’t think I’ve had a burger in the past 2 or 3 years.  But today this hit the spot…a girl’s gotta get a little iron here and there!

I sampled most of the meats they had-sirloin, filet mignon, bacon-wrapped filet mignon, lamb, pork ribs, parmesan-crusted pork loin, and pork sausage.  What was nice is that the serving sizes are normal.  There was no way I was eating all 5 pounds of meat I loaded up on my plate, but I couldn’t stay away from the parmesan pork and the filet mignon.

We also got unlimited mashed potatoes, polenta (the key to my heart), and grilled bananas.  While I prefer fresh nanas, these were a good change of pace and satisfied my sweet tooth so I could resist the dessert menu!

Like I said, I was really anxious about going to this restaurant for lunch.  Although my brother and I had been planning this for weeks (okay, actually months), I was still nervous about eating too much and was worried about “undoing” all of the hard work I’ve been putting into my workouts.  I’m so scared of falling back into eating everything I see, and I was super scared this was the easiest way to put my foot in that door again.  Surprisingly, I ate slow, packed some veggies in my tummy, and sampled (but didn’t finish) all the cuts of meat I chose.  While the mashed potatoes and polenta were seriously irresistible, I managed to practice some self-control in the face of food and didn’t eat as much as I had expected.  Don’t get me wrong, I ate alot-definitely more than I prefer to for lunch.  But it was a one-time thing, and I was determined to not let that meal affect the rest of my food decisions for the day.

Please excuse my closed eyes

I slipped into a food coma almost immediately, and am surprised we made the long drive home without a quick nap on the road.  The best cure for a big meal=nap.  No doubt about it.  I snoozed for a good hour and then forced myself to eat a Chobani with some homemade granola and blueberries for a snack to maintain a normal eating schedule and prevent myself from slipping into old habits of skipping meals.

This is the result of eating too much and not being in control of yourself anymore.

Dinner tonight was fresh spinach & lettuce, topped with zucchini, orange bell pepper, and salsa; half of a sweet potato, and a sandwich thin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

