Back to Baking

I get all tingly just thinking about mixing, kneading, measuring, baking.  It’s been a while (okay, maybe a few days) since I’ve gotten my freak on in the kitchen and yesterday I couldn’t resist after finding this recipe from Brown Eyed Baker.  Snickerdoodle + blondies = heaven in my mouth.

The dry ingredients - flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt

So much butter! 🙂

Cinnamon sugar, a must in any diet

 

 

The adrenaline rush of being in the kitchen obviously wasn’t contagious.

I spent all afternoon and night at work, so a peanut butter cookie Larabar got me through the mid-afternoon hunger pains.

I packed a healthy, veggie-packed meal for dinner so I wouldn’t be tempted to get something fast.  Like pizza from the store next door, or Chickfila 😉 If I know I have a nutritious meal waiting for me, I’m more likely to get excited about it and enjoy it, rather than having to convince myself to order a salad or something healthy if I eat out.

The easiest thing to make for a picnic dinner?  A veggie bowl!  I love throwing a bunch of fresh vegetables together and throwing on a sauce of some sort.  Last night was brown rice for some carbs, black beans for some protein, spinach, cherry tomatoes, orange and yellow bell pepper, onion, avocado (best part by far), corn, and zucchini.  I sprinkled some sea salt, black pepper, paprika and garlic salt for some extra flavor.  This will definitely be repeated!

Hope you have a wonderful morning!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

