Let’s talk about moderation

Because I obviously don’t know the meaning of it anymore.


This is what I looked like all afternoon, except my eyes were open so I could see the Oreo’s to enjoy them even more.  Their slogan should officially be changed to Haley’s Favorite Cookie.  I’m addicted, no less.

Even though my veins are totally sugar-coated now thanks to the excessive amount of Oreo’s I consumed today, I’m almost sure they were the cure for my stomach!  It was either that or the first real meal I ate-yogurt with banana, pb, cinnamon and homemade granola.  I’ll stick with the Oreo’s.

Oh the joy of eating something healthy again!

 All for a good cause though.  Tonight a birthday was celebrated, and what better excuse to use two whole boxes of Oreo’s than a birthday!

Cookies & Cream Cupcakes
Adapted from “Crazy About Cupcakes” by Krystina Castella
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened*
1 cup milk
2 tsp vanilla
2-1/4 cups flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1-2/3 cups sugar
3 large egg whites
1 cup crushed cookies (Oreo’s or the like)

*The room temperature butter is necessary to get the right texture for cupcakes.  Nuke it in the microwave for 5 seconds if you’re antsy and can’t wait!

Blend softened butter, milk, and vanilla in a large bowl.

Mix dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt) in a separate bowl. Whisk to ensure the powder is distributed evenly.

Gradually mix the dry into the wet. Blend until creamy and no lumps are left.

Mix in the sugar, and then add egg whites.  Finally, stir in by hand the crushed cookies.

Use pretty cupcake liners-I nabbed these from Hobby Lobby for $3.00!

Line each cupcake tin with an Oreo, and top with batter until the tin is 3/4 of the way full.

Resist sticking your fingers in them before baking...the batter is to die for.

Bake at 350 for 22 minutes or until the tops begin to turn golden. Let cool completely before decorating.

Take pride in your lovely creation!

 *******

Dinner was at TGI Friday’s.  Definitely not a favorite, but I picked the shrimp skewers with steamed broccoli.  I’m not a fan of restaurants that don’t offer “healthy” options at all-when even the salads and soups are loaded with unnecessary fats and cals.  All I want is a salad, sheesh!

I didn’t take a picture, but my plate was not nearly as full as this one.  I was disappointed in the lack of food-which is weird to say in America!  Luckily the Oreo’s before and after held me over and filled me up 🙂

But in the midst of a birthday, the food doesn’t matter.  Although dessert does.

I didn’t even snag a picture with the birthday girl.  What a fail.

  Luckily I have pictures with myself and I?

*****

I am more than ready for my body to feel 100% better so I can exercise!  All this junk food has really gotten me down, and probably hasn’t been the best idea in trying to get my body healthy again.  The fun doesn’t stop until after tomorrow because we’ll be celebrating Father’s Day, and I’m not holding back for that!

Seriously have the best dad ever, but I’m not bragging.

Hope you have a wonderful night and a blessed day tomorrow!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Let’s talk about moderation

  1. THEse cupcakes are AWESOME!! and ddw girl we all have splurges – its a- ok!

  2. Pingback: The New Craftgawker « my Sole will be Satisfied

Leave a Reply

