Homemade Tomato Sauce

I definitely had an itch for the kitch(en) this morning.  Cooking is my passion, yet I have nobody to cook for and I hate wasting food all the time.  Can a school cafeteria please hire me please?

Last week at a farmer’s market (on the side of a road in the middle of nowhere-sketchy?) my dad and I picked up some fresh cherry tomatoes.  As well as an 8-ball squash, some yellow squash, and my favorite-sweet potatoes!  Homegrown really are better than store-bought.  I’m officially on that bandwagon.

So what to do with expiring squash and tomatoes and an appetite for Italian food?  Make homemade tomato sauce, of course!  I pretty much threw this together in my head while in the shower, and it turned out so beautifully.

Homemade Tomato Sauce

Serves 2
1 Tbsp EVOO
1 cup cherry tomatoes (cut in half)
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
1/4 cup celery, chopped
1/2 cup yellow squash, chopped
2 Tbsp tomato sauce/marinara sauce (I used Ragu-yes I realize this is semi-cheating)
1 Tbsp bread crumbs
1 8-Ball squash (this isn’t necessary, this is just what I filled with the sauce)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp dried basil
1 bay leaf
dash of cumin
1/4 tsp pepper

The necessary ingredients

Cut the 8-ball squash in half

Let soak in boiling water for 15 minutes

Chop veggies

Saute garlic and onion in 1 Tbsp EVOO

When onion is translucent and garlic is browned, add celery and yellow squash

Add tomatoes, spices, and bay leaf. Also, add tomato paste/prepped marinara sauce

Mash everything together. Cover and let simmer 15 minutes.

While sauce is simmering, scoop out seeds from squash halves. It's like carving a pumpkin in summertime 🙂

Post-simmering. Simmer until all liquid from tomatoes is absorbed. Mix in 1 Tbsp bread crumbs.

Stuff yo squash.

Cover with fresh cheese of your choice-I did one with goat cheese and mozzarella and one with just mozzarella.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes; broil on high for 3 minutes or until cheese browns.

 

********

Snacky time after my workout this morning was a fresh berry smoothie.  My family is taking advantage hardcore of berry season and I’m loving it.  In the mix went a handful of strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries, with a container of honey almond yogurt (Target brand).  It was so filling and so summery!

For lunch I had half of my 8-ball squash.  The sauce was too die for.  Seriously.  The squash I could’ve done without.  I’ll stick to butternut and spaghetti, please and thank you.  I paired it with saltines and lots of Caramel Corn Quaker Mini Rice Cakes.

Dinner tonight was eaten at work.  Normally I prefer to pack a dinner so I won’t be tempted by the pizza store and all the other fast food restaurants around town, but today I just wasn’t feeling it.  I knew I probably wouldn’t be too hungry come dinner-time since my appetite isn’t back in full swing yet, so I figured I would come back home during my break to prep something quick.

When I was faced with the dilemma: eat Chinese food with my co-workers or go home to my comfort zone and eat what I wanted and control the calories.  I chose to eat Chinese because I knew that would be the harder thing to do, yet the necessary thing.  I chose a “light & healthy options” dish called Buddha’s Delight, and was severely disappointed.  Chinese food has never let me down before tonight!  It was basically water chestnuts, snap peas, carrots, mushrooms, and cabbage…not too much flavor and way too watery.  Thankfully I packed in the carbs in the form of steamed rice.  Why is that stuff so addicting?  I belong in China.

I came home to a bag of kettle corn sprinkled with cinnamon and sea salt, and now I’m ready to hit the pillow because I’m a total grandma.

[source]

Have a good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

