Toasted Butter Pecan Cake

Hello!  I realize it’s almost the evening and I haven’t posted anything yet.  Trust me, it’s all for a good reason.  I’ve been working on my first fondant cake ever for a belated Father’s Day gift.  I seriously have the coolest dad (although not the most photogenic) and I’ve been so blessed to have him as a role model and a father figure in my life.

He taught me never to give up and always strive for my very best, whatever it takes.

He taught me how to run and how to love it.  His obsession with Albert Einstein quotes such as “Early to bed, early to rise, keeps a man healthy, wealthy, and wise” have become my inspiration to live an active and healthy life as well.

He loves and provides for our family more than we deserve.  My whole life I’ve taken that for granted, and now everyday I thank God for giving me such a hardworking and wonderful dad!

But he found a new love for cooking and immediately became a kitchen hog.  Which sucked for me.

******

As a child, I was an addict of butter pecan ice cream.  The only time I ever had it was at a dinky little restaurant our family would go to on the occasional Sunday with my grandparents, and to this day I associate butter pecan ice cream with my dad.  I’m also not a fan of the simple vanilla, chocolate, or strawberry cake.  So toasted butter pecan cake it was!

Toasted Butter Pecan Cake

Adapted from Taste of Home

Ingredients
1 cup plus 2 Tbsp butter, softened & divided
2-2/3 cup chopped pecans [I only used 1 cup]
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract [I used 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 tsp vanilla & butter nut imitation flavor]
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup 2% milk [I used skim milk]

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Melt 2 Tbsp butter in a skillet. Toss pecans in the butter for 3 minutes or until toasted. Be careful not to burn them-they burn fast.

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt. Whisk together to ensure even distribution of baking powder.

In separate mixing bowl, cream together 1 cup of softened butter and sugar until fluffy.

Mix in eggs one at a time.

If you can't find something similar in your grocery store, 2 tsp of vanilla works just fine!

Mix in vanilla.

Mix in flour mixture slowly, alternating with the milk. Blend until creamy.

Fold in toasted pecans by hand.

Spread evenly in a pan. I used a 9x13, and baked it for 40 minutes. Depending on the thickness of your cake, the baking time will vary. The recipe suggests 25-30 minutes.

Take it out when a wooden toothpick comes out clean, or the top is turning golden. Mmm!

I’ve been laboring hardcore in the kitchen all day trying to be Duff Goldman and haven’t totally failed yet.  Pictures of the final product will be up tonight!

PS:  While I do strive to take normal recipes and make them healthy in whatever way I can, sometimes you just have to go all out!  This is one of those times.  Feel free to try different ingredients or add/subtract anything and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

