Mini BodyPump + Small Beauties

There are pros and cons of going to a free gym.
The pro: it’s free.
The con:  There isn’t Bodypump.  Which forced me to create a mini-Bodypump class for myself to attend.  And when I say mini, I mean mini.

I started on the treadmill.  (For some reason, after a long hiatus from running, I’ve picked it back up.  Maybe a break really was what I needed to refresh and restart.)

Time

Speed

0-1

6.5

1-2

7.5

2-3

6.5

3-4

4.2 (increase incline)

Repeat this 4-minute cycle five times, for a total of 20 minutes (I completed exactly 2 miles.) 

Whip out the following exercises and push yourself…you’ll be sore surprised and thank me in the long run.  I did each for 1 minute and immediately moved onto the next.

Mini BodyPump Circuit

bench press

alternating lunges*

bent-over alternating row

close-grip pulldown

hip abductor machine

step-ups*

plie squat*

bicep curls

deadlifts

overhead tricep extension

wall squat

shoulder press

[*use dumbbells for extra weight*]

Get your heart rate up on the elliptical for 10 minutes at a moderate pace, and repeat the circuit again.

Don’t forget to cool down and stretch.  (Sweet…I need that reminder, too.)

**********

Breakfast

What was supposed to be a cool-down walk home from the gym turned into a sprint to the finish line so I could eat some breakfast!

You know those days when breakfast just rocks your world?  Yep, today was one of those days.  2 Van’s Lite waffles topped with melted almond butter, a drizzle of agave nectar, sprinkled chia seeds and cinnamon.  That pink mush was a smoothie wannabe-a frozen banana and and frozen strawberries with a spoonful of greekyo.  And of course, a side of iced coffee with skim milk.

**********

Exercise addiction is something I’ve battled for a while now, and just like everything else, there are good and bad days.  Some days I wake up and I have a good mindset about it-I plan to exercise to stay healthy, to feel good, and to relieve stress.  Today, though, I woke up extremely anxious about working out.  I felt like it was something I had to do, and it was up to me to lift enough weight, run long enough, and do what needed to be done to shape my body.  In my attempt to control my fitness, it always ends up controlling me.

I chose to walk to the gym because it always gives me some good prayer and reflection time as I begin the day.  I asked God to redirect my thoughts; to make the workout smaller in my mind.  A workout can so easily get blown out of proportion in my mind, like it’s a life or death situation.  It was amazing how quickly he took my obsessive thoughts and gave me such peace about it.  I surrendered my body and my workout to him, and having that different mindset made the workout FUN, instead of something necessary and blah.  It’s these small beauties-these miracles-that keep me going.

I was reminded (once again) that there’s so much more to life than a workout.  Yes, it is good for me and should be incorporated into my life somehow.  But getting anxious over it and fretting that I won’t be doing enough during my workout?  Pointless.  Completely pointless.  I have a beautiful family and such loving friends; a God whose love for me is unfathomable; a future that doesn’t have to revolve around exercise.  That should be my main focus, and if anything should stress me out, it should be that.

So that’s how I’m starting my day today!  I’m going shopping with my sweet mom and if I have to adjust my pre-ordained lunchtime, then so be it.  I’m not going to let a morning where I nearly fell back into old thoughts consume the rest of my day.

Don’t forget to look for the beauty in the small things today-enjoy your Friday!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mini BodyPump + Small Beauties

  1. I sometimes have that problem with exercise- on my rest days I feel like crap!! You inspired me to do a relaxing bike ride today. 🙂

    Thanks for the comment!!

Leave a Reply

