I’m Coming For You, ITALIA…

 

 

 I can’t believe I’ll be in this beautiful country in just a few days:

Seriously, I’ve been blessed beyond words and I don’t understand why!

You better believe the anxiety is starting to creep up on me about not being able to work out, not being able to control what I eat when I eat.

I’ve been compiling a couple workout DVDS, yoga series, and no-equipment routines I can do if I have the time.  Our schedule is pretty jam-packed (hey, we’re not wasting anytime in Italy) as it is, but if we are relaxing in the hotel for the night, or I happen to wake up a tad early due to jet lag, it wouldn’t hurt to get in some form of exercise, right?

I’ve been reminded numerous times that we’ll be walking everywhere.  Which is something I definitely miss about living in Europe.  While here we take our car to get to the gym (ironic, huh?), in Europe it’s a totally different story.  I’m looking forward to having no car-just my feet (and a train system).

More than anything, I’m nervous I’m going to waste my time there worrying about my body.  I want to enjoy every last bit of pizza, pasta, gelato (SCORE) and glass of wine.  I don’t want to feel guilty whatsoever, because Italy could be a once in a lifetime thing. I’m determined to not let “those thoughts” get to me, weigh me down, and prevent me from living.

Yes, I’m bringing along granola bars and small snack bags, just because it’s nothing I would do differently if I was at home.  If I’m hungry for a quick pick-me-up, I would reach for some almonds or a protein bar.  So why can’t I do the same thing there?

Yes, I am bringing a lot some workout options just in case, but I’m not going to schedule my days around that and let it make or break my day.

You can bet your bottom dollar I’m going to enjoy every single experience, whether food is involved or not!  Goodness I’m so excited.

**********

Breakfast

This is what I don’t get – when you eat a late-night snack, you wake up even hungrier than normal.  Is that backwards?  Or am I the only one who has this issue?

I opted for a bowl of cooked oats, with a teaspoon of cinnamon, melted PB, a melted banana, apple butter, and chia seeds.  It wasn’t the best breakfast, but it got the job done and fueled me for my easy workout.

I headed to the gym and took it easy on the elliptical for 30 minutes while reading my new issue of Fitness Magazine.  My body needed a relaxing day.  (And, I’m trying not to “get in as much working out as possible” before leaving for vacation.)  Just another normal day…

Knowing that I would be going on a long bike ride post-workout kept me cool too.  I refueled with a Yoplait blueberry yogurt and a handful of strawberries blended together for a granita.

Oh, and a slice of homemade bread.  Because forreal, that stuff is add-ic-ting.

Hope you have a wonderful Saturday afternoon!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

