Arrivederci!

I lied.  I was able to get in a good shweaty workout this morning before taking off for ITALY!  I really couldn’t get into the workout because I am so damn excited, but I knew I would feel so much better about sitting on an 11-hour flight if I got in some good exercise to start the day.

I borrowed this treadmill workout from Peanut Butter Fingers (thanks Julie!) and my butt will be thanking me tomorrow. After a cycle of ab exercises and 10 minutes on the elliptical, I called it a day and came home to another gorgeous oatmeal smoothie.

Overnight: 1/3 cup rolled oats, 1/3 + 1/4 cup water, 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp dark cocoa powder.
Blended together in the morning with a frozen banana and 2 Tbsp peanut butter (well, maybe a little more than 2 Tbsp).

**********

I’ll be gone for 8 days, and I seriously considered writing posts ahead of time and having them automatically post daily.  But then I decided it would be healthy to take a break from the blogging world.  As helpful as it has been-seeing other girls that have gone through the same things and being reminded that I’m not the only one, keeping me accountable in food and exercise, and learning about health in general-I also feel like I can easily become obsessed with it.  It’s easy to compare what I’m eating with what another blogger is eating, and beating myself up because I’m eating “too much” or exercising “too little.”  The comparison trap has come out full-force in an area where it was supposed to be silenced.

By no means do I plan to stop blogging about my pursuit of a healthy lifestyle, workouts, and food because I really am passionate about it.  God has given me a week to focus on my family and myself though, and I plan to take it seriously and have a BLAST.

Right now, I’m not worried about food.  I’m not worried about not getting enough exercise (mostly because we’ll be going on bike tours and walking alot).  I want this to be a trip of self-reflection and independence.  I need to figure some stuff out and it’ll be nice to get away from the internet, my phone, and ‘real life’ for a week.

Have such a wonderful week and I’ll be back soon!

Random:

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Arrivederci!

  1. Have a fabulous time! Taking a break from blogging is a good idea sometimes, something I am thinking about doing too 🙂

  2. Have a great trip! Don’t worry too much about food. With all the walking and exercise you will be burning off the food and remember…IT’S VACATION!

  3. Yes so true! I probably didnt walk enough to burn off ALL the food but it was soo worth it

Leave a Reply

