Caramel Macchiato Cake Bars

Tonight was the first time in a while that I was at home all night and had time to prepare dinner.  Gosh I’ve missed the kitchen.  Don’t judge me for having canned fish two nights in a row, but I’m not ashamed.  It’s so easy and versatile, not to mention a good buy for cheapos like me.

Black Bean Tuna Burgers

1/2 can tuna, white albacore
1/4 cup black beans
1/4 cup onions
1/4 cup cucumber
1/4 cup red pepper & yellow bell pepper
handful of spinach

Chop the veggies.

In a food processor, combine all ingredients and process until completely blended. Add an egg white to hold everything together, and form in the shape of one (big) or two (small) patties.

In a Tbsp of EVOO, heat the patties over the stove. Covering them helps firm them up. Cook approx. 5 minutes on each side.

I threw my two patties on a sandwich thin and loaded it up with a crap ton of mustard.  I roasted more zucchini and yellow squash for 20 minutes in a 400 degree oven.  I’m obviously a creature of habit, because this looks exactly what I had last night.

For dessert, I snacked on some Apple Cinnamon mini rice cakes, and made a dark chocolate pudding bowl with strawberries, plain nonfat yogurt, and a few squares of melted dark chocolate.  Oh…and a graham cracker for some crunchy goodness!

**********

Working in a coffee shop 8 hours a day has my mind always spinning with ideas to turn the drinks that are ingrained in my brain into tasty desserts.  Because I love baking 259395039 times more than I love making coffee drinks for caffeine-deprived customers.

A caramel macchiato is probably my favorite flavored coffee drink.  I prefer black iced coffee, specifically an Americano, but a macchiato takes a close second.  And it’s pretty 🙂  It’s a layered drink, and the presentation is always flawless.  From the bottom up, you have vanilla syrup, milk, espresso shots, and caramel sauce.

Caramel Macchiato Bars

1 box yellow cake mix
1 cup water
1 Tbsp veg. oil
1.5 cups chocolate chips
3 Tbsp instant espresso powder
3 Tbsp caramel sauce

I cheated and used a cake mix. Measure out 1.5 cups and pour in medium-sized bowl.

Mix water and cake mix. Add in vegetable oil. Stir but do no over-stir. There should be small clumps.

Pour into pan of your choice. I settled for a bread loaf pan. Even out with spatula. Cook in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. Immediately after taking out of oven, poke holes all over with toothpick to allow melted chocolate to seep into the cake.

While the cake bakes, melt chocolate chips with the vegetable oil and espresso grounds in the microwave in 30-second intervals. Stir often to prevent burning.

Smear chocolate mush over cake. Let the chocolate harden.

Drizzle caramel over chocolate. Put in the fridge overnight, and slice into bars.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Caramel Macchiato Cake Bars

  1. blissfulbritt

    Wowwwza! What great idea! These bars look amazzzingg. Creative!

Leave a Reply

