Day 2: Musei Vaticani

Oh you know what kicks a day off to a good start.  A good breakfast.

Plain Fage (2%!), a banana, and honey

I brought along instant oatmeal packets just in case, but ended up finding Fage yogurt at the grocery store and couldn’t resist.  I mentioned I surprised myself over and over on this trip when it came to food, and here is one time I punched those ED thoughts in the face and did what I wanted.  Any non-nonfat dairy product was appalling to me…until I had no choice and was forced to eat 2% yogurt on the trip.  In Europe, they’re not so concerned with “nonfat” and making things as healthy as possible like we stress over here, so nonfat yogurt wasn’t even an option.  I will never turn back now-the 2% is sooooo much creamier and yummy than the boring ol’ nonfat crap.

Day 2 was spent in Vatican City.  Even though it was only two train stops away from our hotel in downtown Rome, Vatican City is its own separate entity.  Even the feel of the “city” is different from that of Rome.

We had a tour group to meet up with, but arrived early in order to fuel up for our day-long tour of the premises.  There were a few things I insisted on trying while in Italy, and apart from PIZZA, CAPRESE was next on my list.  I mean, I could totally remake it at home, but that is so not the same.

Caprese is like the perfect meal to satisfy and fill your belly without being super heavy.  The tomatoes were a tad green, but I’m not complaining.  The basilmozzarellatomato combo can’t be beaten.  Plus I love saying Caprese in my new Italian accent.

The pope and all of that stuff has never been interesting to me at all, besides in the book Angels & Demons.  If only that book was real life.  Needless to say, I wasn’t overly excited to tour the place for 4 hours.  What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

We spent the tour walking around the Vatican Museum-and no, no popey pope sighting-St. Peter’s Square, the Sistene Chapel, and St. Peter’s Basilica.  Even though it means absolutely nada to me, it was still pretty and the architecture was beautiful!  I’m still so amazed that people were able to build and decorate so intricately without all of the technology we rely on today.

St. Peter's Basilica in the background

Pictures were not allowed in the Sistene Chapel.  I usually completely ignore that rule, but officers were surrounding the place ready to tackle any rule-breakers.  Maybe not, but disrespect ain’t on my moral list.  This is all the sista could get:

Inside St. Peter's Basilica

Overlooking St. Peter's Square

Dinner was an adventure in itself.  We stopped on our way back to the hotel at a small, local cafe.  Restaurant owners seriously have tha glam life!  They open for lunch hours, and then close again until around 6:30 or 7:00.  Naptime anyone?

This was my first experience with mussels and clams.  The mussels were fantastic-salty without being too salty, and not as slimy as I had anticipated.  The clams on the other hand, were not my faves.  Good thing I’m not picky, cause I ate every last creature hiding in those shells.  Oh, and lots of bread too.  Can’t forget the bread.

One day when the boss get hungry, guess who's gon' be on the plate

Day 2 was gelato-less.  This should not be allowed, but it happened.  I snacked on dark chocolate and sparkling water pretty much every night, because all of that walking really takes a toll on your blood sugar 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

