The Pizza & City That Stole My Heart

(In terms of pizza), day one in Italy took the cake.  We arrived in Rome mid-morning and immediately set out to check into our hotel so we could check out the city and get some Italian food in our bellies.

Do you like the view from our hotel?  The hotel promised a room overlooking the Colosseum.  I was super stoked until we were transported to our actual hotel room and this was the “room overlooking the Colosseum.”

Thankfully, the gelato store conveniently located next door made up for the view.

We lunched at a little hole-in-the-wall place called Galleria Sclerra.  Note:  While traveling in Europe, if you want authentic cultural food, don’t eat at the touristy places (that have English on the menu).  The food is soooo much better at the mom & pop places!

And thus began my week-long carb binge.  Carbs in the form of bread used to not be allowed in my stomach.  I definitely had atleast 2 pieces of bread at every meal-talk about progress.  The best part was no guilt!  By the end of the week I almost became a loaf of bread, but it was worth it.

Time for the main event:  pizza.  Another BIG no on my past restriction list.  Guess who ate 4 pizzas in a week?  This girl!  This was by far the best though-topped with grilled eggplant, zucchini, and bell pepper.  Italian pizza is made with olive oil which makes for a non-greasy, doughy, absolutely delicious pizza.

We spent the rest of the afternoon wandering around Rome and trying to not get lost among the swarms of tourists.  I can’t even imagine living in Rome with all of the tourists taking over, it’s crazy!

The Pantheon

Lots of gorgeous, intricately-decorated churches

Trevi Fountain hidden behind the masses of people. Hello WHEN IN ROME.

Lots and lots of street markets

All of the walking and sweating made me feel so much better about eating a whole pizza and loaves slices of bread.  And it also gave me room for some of what I went to Italy in search of.  My one and only love…in the form of gelato…

Please, can I please move into this store?  I could’ve eaten the whole batch.  There were gooey, cold chunks of fresh (?) Nutella in every bite.  My first experience with gelato was great success.

We resorted back to American food for dinner because of my parents’ obsession with Hard Rock Cafe.

I chose a veggie sandwich-portobello mushrooms, eggplant, zucchini, squash, bell peppers, spinach, and tomatoes on ciabatta bread.  Eggplant and zucchini in one day?  I’ll take it!

Even though I was bummed to spend a meal eating American food when I could be scarfing down tortellini, more pizza, or Caprese, it was still great to spend time with my fam, which really is way more important than the food.

(Obviously, a shower was toootttaaalllyyyy needed at this point in time.)

Being awake for 24 hours definitely took its toll and we headed back to the hotel for an early night, not without some dark chocolate to finish off the night.  Two desserts in one day, I have to brag.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Pizza & City That Stole My Heart

  1. Amazing pictures and eats! Looks like y’all had a fantastic time! I really hope to go to Italia one day, it looks so beautiful and fun 🙂

  2. Thanks for the tour of Italy looks like a great way to spend a vacation. great foo, great friends, and great country.

Leave a Reply

