Eating More (Apple Cake) ?

Good EVENING!  Why do I have no life and choose to sit around watching ABC News and baking healthy treats on a beautiful Saturday night?  I will never understand my thought process…or maybe it’s this adorbz face that is making me stay home.

Ahhhhh I can’t get over the beauty of a rest day.  Working the morning shifts means I get off at 2:00 and have the rest of the day to do…nothing!  It’s so nice to have a clean-slate day to be a total bum productive citizen.

I noticed a few days ago that my head was exploding mid-day.  every. single day.  First I chalked it up to maybe a lack of sleep (yeah right I sleep like a baby), dehydration, allergies, whatever else.  So I got more sleep, rested more during the day, and drank more water.  No change.  WebMD=heaven for hypochondriacs.  One of the only things that matched my “symptoms” was hypoglycemia but cmon, if I don’t get enough sugar from apple cake, nutella cookies and the sort, then I atleast get it from the massive amounts of fruit I shove down my throat on a daily basis.

Then I was blog stalking and came across Run With Spoons and voila, a post about hunger being a possible demon behind the headaches, moodiness, and tiredness.  Hunger?  Honestly, in my mind I think I eat a TON.  So I started jottin down what I eat, when I eat, when the headaches come, when I’m fatigued beyond function, etc etc.  And I realized I really don’t eat that much.  As I increase my exercise load, I def don’t purposely increase my caloric intake because ‘that wouldn’t help me lose weight.’  Psh.

So eating more is on my agenda.  More food?!  Okay, this kind of scares me.  And every time that I went to snack today, I had to convince myself that it was best for my body.  It’s trial & error, but hopefully this works for my body and doesn’t take over my mind!

**********

After bumming around for a few hours watching My Strange Addictions (yet again, loser status!) on TLC, I cranked open the blenda for some smoothie action.

Leftover sweet potatoes from last night are better lukewarm anyways.  It was about a half cup of sweet potatoes, half a banana, 1/2 cup plain greekyo, 1/4 cup almond milk, nutmeg, cinnamon, agave (for extra sweetness), and ice ice ice.

Laziness can only last so long, and experimenting in the kitchen was a must.  Gotta take advantage of open schedules before school starts again.

Recipe tomorrow!  Don’t turn up your nose at my weird freaky food cravings.

After a walk with this crazy child, it was dinnertime, yet hunger was nowhere to be found.  I really need to stop eating dessert before dinnertime.  Where are parents when you need them?

I typically eat dinner even if I’m not hungry, because I don’t want to binge late at night.  But I also don’t want to eat when I’m not hungry.  Such a predicament-any suggestions?

I kept dinner light so I could load up on excess apple cake for the real meal.   I seared a raw tuna steak rubbed with a Caribbean jerk seasoning and sea salt, sauteed red pepper slices, cucumber, and onion, and laid it all over some expired fresh spinach.  Mustard has been MIA the past few days and I have not been a happy girl.

Spicy Honey-Lime Mustard Vinaigrette

1 Tbsp distilled white vinegar (or balsamic)
2 Tbsp dijon mustard
1 Tbsp honey
dash of nutmeg
3 drops of lime juice

This made the plate.  When doesn’t mustard make a plate?

Enjoy your Saturday night-hopefully you’re doing something exciting for me!

Do you tend to eat at certain times, even when you’re not hungry?  Or just eat whenever your body decides it’s time?
Weird smoothie combinations? 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eating More (Apple Cake) ?

  1. Okay first off, I have to say that I’m totally in love with that picture of your pooch. It reminds me of all of those “The Dog” pictures that I absolutely adore. Ahh too cute! And isn’t it crazy how many hidden and misleading symptoms hunger can cause? I started feeling off and had no idea what to attribute it to, especially because I didn’t exactly increase my exercise amount or anything, but apparently I was underestimating how much my body needed, because I felt SO much better as soon as I started eating more. Gotta treat our bodies well, and they’ll love us right back 😀

  2. I usually always eat a meal, but make it lighter, if I’m not fully hungry but know I will end up ravenous not much later. Best to eat a balanced meal when you can. 🙂

    And I always get really bad headaches when I’m not eating enough too. Definitely sounds like a possible culprit.

Leave a Reply

