Quinoa Wafer Cookies

Happy baking Sunday morning!  I failed to celebrate Pancake Sunday, the oatmeal jar wouldn’t get outta my face.  BUT that calls for a whole day playing in the kitchen, so be ready.

I have this wayyyyy too big bag of quinoa sitting in my pantry.  Maybe I haven’t tried the right recipes or somethin somethin but I was not a huge fan the first time around.  Seeing as wasting food is not an option, I had to figure out something, so why not make a dessert out of it?  Veggies and grains are so yesterday.  Thankfully this has already been done successfully so I didn’t have to think too hard.

Quinoa Wafer Cookies

Adapted from Bites & Bliss 

1/8 cup uncooked quinoa
1/8 cup oats
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp canola oil
1 Tbsp agave nectar
1/8 cup maple syrup
1 flax egg
1/4 cup applesauce
1/8 cup dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 tsp vanilla + a little extra
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
dash of salt
1 tsp chia seeds (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with Pam and set aside.  Prepare your flax egg and let sit while you fix up the rest of the ingredients.  (One egg white can also be substituted for this if you’re not a fan of flaxyeggys!)

Whisk dry ingredients together, but leave out chia seeds and brown sugar.

Mix together wet ingredients in a separate bowl, including brown sugar. Beat for 1 minute.

Mix dry ingredients into wet. Add chia seeds.

The batter will be runny, unlike normal cookie recipes. I added a handful of extra oats to thicken it up a tad.

Spoon out the batter onto the greased baking sheet. Leave enough space between each cookie, because they DO spread ALOT.

Bake for 15-17 minutes. The bottoms burn quick, so keep your eye on them to ensure a soft, crumbly cookie that comes off the pan.

Can someone say healthy and delicious? They’re crazy soft and crumble to the touch.  They’re wafer-thin, but I’m thinking they’d be a perfect topping for oatmeal, a mix-in for yogurt, or even blended up in a smoothie.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Quinoa Wafer Cookies

  1. I’m glad you tried them!! I’ll definitely have to try your version with the flax egg and oil- I like the idea of a super thin cookie like that. And I agree- perfect for crumbling over oatmeal!

Leave a Reply

