Indian Food, What What???

Indian food is my lover.  Although I’d probably say that about every single genre of food.

When I saw a recipe that involved curry, sweet potatoes, and eggplants all in one, how could I resist?!

Five-Vegetable Curry
Adapted from EatingWell 

1 Tbsp EVOO
3 cloves garlic OR 1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated
1 jalapeno, seeded & chopped
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp turmeric
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 cup water
1 eggplant, cubed & unpeeled
12 oz potatoes, cubed
12 oz sweet potatoes, cubed
8 oz tomatoes, chopped OR 8 oz canned diced tomatoes
4 oz green beans, cut into 2-inch pieces
2 tsp curry powder

Once you start cooking, everything comes together quickly.  It’s the chopping and popping (green beans) that takes so gosh darn long.  Prep everything before turning up the heat.

Heat oil in a skillet until hot.  Add grated ginger and chopped garlic (if using garlic powder, do not add yet).  Add jalapeno, cumin, and turmeric.  WASH hands-jalapenos in the eyes is no bueno!

Add sugar, salt, and water.

Bring water to a boil, and add eggplant, potatoes, sweet potatoes, and tomatoes.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.

Add green beans and simmer 18 minutes more, or until vegetables are tender.

Mash potatoes and sweet potatoes to make a thicker sauce.  Stir in curry powder, and remove from heat.  Let sit atleast 20 minutes before serving (to allow the flavors to blend and absorb).

Is that real food?!

This was paired with an easy curried chicken for my fellow family members who can’t fathom eating eggplants or sweet potatoes.

Rub for chicken:
1 Tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1/16 tsp cardamom (can omit)
1/8 tsp ground ginger (the powder)

I whipped up some green bean fries (totally not Indian food), and some brown rice cooked with fresh ginger and fresh mango.  Winnaaaaa fo shizzle.

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Eats

5 responses to “Indian Food, What What???

  1. Ok , so let me tell you , you’d have to be a pretty crazy Indian (not that they’re in short supply ) to put that many vegetables into one curry. :O I think everything except the eggplant would have gone together.

  2. Omgzzzz. I’m like drooling! I love love love Indian food. Can we have an Indian food party together and be bff’s?! 🙂

  3. I lovee love Indian food! Great recipe you have here, thank you for sharing 😀

  4. What a great Indian feast! I’d be all over the eggplant and sweet potatoes, no doubt about that.

  5. I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained I’m sure you had fun writing this article.

Leave a Reply

