Duathlon-er

The best thing about running cross country and track for so long was seeing the results of grueling practices two times every single day.  When cross country ended after highschool, I couldn’t just quit competing all of a sudden and began training for half-marathons.

My first half was so reassuring-that I can set a goal and accomplish it.  My time was 1:40:44, and I was more than pleased just to finish.  Going from running 3-mile races to a 13-mile race gave me a running buzz for sure, and after finishing I was soooo ready to tackle like 16 halfs every year.

Having no training partner and running for the wrong reasons led me to give it up completely.  It was one of the hardest decisions, because running was a HUMONGOUS part of my life up to that point.

Fitness is my passion, but I realize I have no goals set so I never get to see the results (besides being emotionally balanced and being healthy).  I want to get into running again, but need the motivation and encouragement from an outside source.  So in the meantime, I decided to go for something smaller and maybe work up that motivation to running long distance again.

So I just signed up for my first duathlon!  I’m not a swimmer, so a tri is out for right now.  It’s a small race-only 2 miles running, 10 miles biking, and 2 miles running to finish.  And it’s not until October.  It won’t require a lot of training but I’m pumped to have a goal and something to work towards!

I cannot and will not give up weight training (if I have the choice) because I have fallen head over heels in love.  In order to incorporate more cardio I’m going to start doing a bit of extra heart-pumping in the evening.  It’ll be easy peasy, but I want to do well in this race, not just to say I did it.

Plus, I need a tad bit of excitement in my life.  Really, my life is pretty monotonous and this is step #1 to moving past routine.

Who knows…maybe this will be in store next.  HA yeah rigggghtttt!

Have a swell day!

4 Comments

Filed under Workouts

4 responses to “Duathlon-er

  1. Allie

    How exciting! I know you will do great because you are so dedicated! I’m sure you could do triathalons as well, they’re not so bad 🙂

  2. blissfulbritt

    This competition sounds PERFECT! It does not sound small at all…sure you aren’t running 13 straight miles, but running 2, biking 10, and running another 2 is awesome! Total boss points for this. I would love to do this with you if I lived near you! You are gonna rocckk this!

  3. WOO! That sounds EPIC. I’m so excited to hear about the training and the results, you’re so gonna own it girl! 🙂

  4. This sounds so awesome! I’ve been looking for a dual-a-thon to do as well but for swimming and running instead of biking and running… the only problem is I have a fear of open water! eep
    You’re going to rock it out!

Leave a Reply

