Chai Tea Latte in Carb Form

The baking bug bit me yesterday while I was craving a Chai Latte.  The result?  Chai bread!  Beware, you have to be a pretty big fan of chai, otherwise this bread is not for you.

Chai Tea Latte Quickbread

3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup non-dairy milk (I used Almond)
2 tsp vanilla
2 eggs (I used flax eggs)
2 cups flour (50:50 whole wheat:white)
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp cloves

Prepare flax eggs (if using) ahead of time to let them develop.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees and PAM & flour a bread loaf pan.

The spices that make the Chai flavah - you could also add a dash of nutmeg

Mix all dry ingredients (except sugar) in a medium-sized bowl.  Whisk together to evenly distribute the Chai flavoring.

 

Mix sugar + all wet ingredients in a separate bowl.

Pour dry into wet and mix by hand.  Don’t overmix-it should be lumpy bumpy.

Pour batter into the greased & floured loaf pan.

Now…put in the oven for 50 minutes (or until toothpick/knife comes out clean) and you now have a cheaper, doughier version of that latte you were going to run to Starbucks for!

Perfect smoothie mix-in.  Breads give me my perfect smoothie texture, so chai smoothie…here I come!

What’s your favorite Starbucks drink?

Chai: YES or no?

5 Comments

Filed under Baking, Daily Eats

5 responses to “Chai Tea Latte in Carb Form

  1. chai latte in bread form?! sign me up 🙂
    Your dog is adorable!

    My favorite starbucks drink is iced coffee with sugar free vanilla.. then I add some of that vanilla powder sugar stuff they have.. it’s love

  2. YES to this bread!!! Chai latte was my FIRST starbucks drink. Crazy right? I am totally bookmarking this recipe to make for my mom. She loves the Chai latte from starbucks too, I’m sure she will love this bread as well!!

    P.s. your puppers is totally adorable 🙂

  3. Ummm I love chai so this is perfect. YUM 🙂

    I have way too many favorite drinks at Sbux! Pumpkin spice latte, coconut mocha frap, chai tea latte, soy vanilla latte, chocolate smoothie… the list can go on FOREVA!!

  4. I love the flavour of chai! This looks so delicious…I totally need to bake more.
    Also how cute is your dog?!
    My boyfriend works at Starbucks so i get drinks for free (yay!) my favourite is either a soy hot chocolate with half a shot each of vanilla and cinnamon or a raspberry-tea frappucino 🙂

  5. I am seriously IN LOVE with your blog! I just read like 5 pages of it! YOU ARE AWESOME GIRL

Leave a Reply

