Code Red + Weekend Workout

Amazon is a doll and sent me NROLFW only a few days after ordering it.  I was weirdly excited to receive a book in the mail that would give me new workout ideas, but I was actually sorta kinda bummed that it recommends you only do a weight workout 3x a week.  Apparently I’ve been hit with roid rage and I can’t just do three days.

I never intended on reading the actual book book, but it’s been super interesting.  It’s hard to tell what’s true and what works because really, anybody can make their study seem believable.  But last night a part that stuck out to me was the having kids/menstrual cycle part and how nutrition affects that immensely.

As sick as it is, I used to pride myself on not getting my period because I knew it meant I was working out a lot and not eating a lot, aka amenorrhea.  [Okay, so I didn’t have to deal with my period, but I did have to deal with depression, irritability, and I was one big Moody Judy.]  Once I got back on track, eating again and exercising like the average person, everything turned back to normal and I thought sweetttttt no biggie. But the author makes such a good point that if you don’t have a healthy reproductive system, then the short and long-term effects won’t be pretty.  Having kids is dangerous and out of the question (if even possible) and post-menopausal, your bone tissues will be weak.

To be honest, those disordered thoughts still pass through my head about once a day.  A lighter period=losing weight.  And I consider that a victory, which is SO. NOT. TRUE.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m 200% single and I’m not looking to bear children anytime soon, but to be a mom is most definitely one of my top 3 goals in life.  Reading that paragraph was a slap in the face.

“It makes no sense to get pregnant during periods in which starvation is a distinct possibility.  So your body shifts its priorities elsewhere, fueling your brain and internal organs rather than allocating those precious energy reserves to a hungry offspring.” – Lou Schuler

Not okay with me…4 words: bring. on. the. food.

[source]

Amenorrhea is a sign of low estrogen levels, which in the long run causes stress fractures (in the postmenopausal area). I’ve been blessed with two strong legs and two functional arms that allow me to do what I love-run, lift weights, cook, walk, dance, eat.  I don’t want to be 50 and be bed-ridden because I didn’t take care of my body in my third decade of life.

One thing I’ve learned about disordered eating is that it focuses your mind only on the short term.  I had no peripheral vision and could only see one day at a time-planning that day’s meals out, being guilty over everything that I ate that day.  I never realized the harm I was doing to my body could greatly affect where I will stand as a senior citizen.  I want to be able to have kids, and then pick up and play around with my grandkids.  If I don’t give my body what it needs and pack in the nutrients, then that might not be possible.

[source]

As I recover, my eyes are getting wider and I can see further down the road versus one day at a time.  Thankfully, the healing I’ve experienced by the grace of God has opened my eyes and convinced me to take care of myself now so I’m not itching to turn back time and wish I had made different decisions.

Taking good care of my body is still a one-day-at-a-time thing, but now with goals for my future that would directly be affected by my body’s nutrition level, I’m more willing and excited to fuel it properly and nutritiously.

**********

Weekend Workout

A treadmill workout I did a few days ago could not go without sharing.  The only thing I like about spinning class is the songs and feeling the music pump the blood through your veins.  But I don’t like spinning, so I used a spinning playlist and took it to the treaddy:

1) Warmup: walk @ 4.0, and run @ 6.0 during chorus
2) Start at 6.5 and increase the speed by 0.5 every minute
3) Go back to 6.5 and switch the incline between 1.5 and 5 every minute
4) Tempo run @ 7.0
5) Go back to 6.5 and sprint @ 8.0 during chorus (beware: the chorus is kind of long)
6) Tempo run @ 6.5
7) Stay @ 6.5 and sprint @ 8.5 during chorus <–Can’t help but love Selena Gomez’s words of wisdom
8) Walk @ 4.0 mph with incline @ 5.0

My deepest darkest baddest secret is that I secretly had a crush on Lil’ Wayne during my highschool rap phase.

[source]

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

**********

What are your thoughts on New Rules of Lifting for Women?

11 Comments

Filed under ED thoughs, Workouts

11 responses to “Code Red + Weekend Workout

  1. Having kids is one of my main goals in life.. as a woman I feel like God calls me to have children and be fruitful + multiply. I CANNOT wait to have a bunch of little buggers running around! Thinking of that makes me want to take good care of my body so I can see my kids and their kids, etc!!

    I like rap music too! It totally pumps me up 🙂

  2. kat

    I loved the book. I finally found a book that told me that lifting heavy for a woman was GOOD and that it really will give me the results I’m looking for. Women really need to stop with the whole weak and skinny thing, who wants to hug a twig anyway?? 😉

  3. Amazing post! I couldn’t agree more, I used to feel “empowered” by having amenorrhea, but I was one heck of a cranky a-hole too haha Now, I embrace it and thank God for my health and for the future possibility of little tikes running around 🙂
    Oooh and great playlist too, those are my kinda workout tunes! 😀

  4. Great post! A period means a healthy women. I don’t know why in the past my view was so fogged on this concept. I love the NROLFW, it’s such a well written book and it had be drawn into it for the whole thing 🙂

  5. This is a fantastic post and what you wrote is definitely stuff I can relate to. I have written about my period before and the lack there of.. I still don’t have it and I worry about it every single day. I am eating the right foods and everything and am at a much healthier weight, but still no bueno 😦
    I want children one day and the fact that I might not be able to? Oh my gosh does that frighten me.

  6. Bahaha I love that you had a crush on lil weezy. I loovee him. He is such a tiny little bad ass.

  7. love this!! Having kids is so much more important than being stick thin!

  8. I am getting tested for anoerrha in the next couple weeks:( I hate what my eating disorder did to me not only mentally but physically……Growing up I said the best gift I would ever give myself would be children

  9. Ah, it breaks my heart to read this post! Im at that stage, were I know im ruining my body by not fueling it enough. Im working on it, but its so hard some days..like today! And is so annoying, cause here I am with a perfectely healthy, strong body- and all I do is breaking it down!
    Im so happy that you are making changes in your life, so you and your body will be strong and happy forever 🙂 Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

  10. Hey girlie! I think it’s great that you’re broadening your scope and looking towards the future as motivation to get healthier. One of my biggest fears was always getting older and looking back and regretting that I didn’t take better care of myself. I never want to reach a point where my body is in such bad shape and it’s too late to do anything about it. Eep. Better to take care of it and prevent that kind of stuff from happening!

  11. I Love NROLFW!!! i just don’t like that it demonizes running. The nutrition chapter was one of my favorites. It really made me think about the damage I did to my body when I ate so little. I need to make up for lost time now.

Leave a Reply

