It’s my party, I can eat if I want to

Basically, God is so good to me! I celebrated my birthday yesterday (kind of, if you count being at work for half the day a celebration) and I always get super nostalgic on birthdays.  I love looking back and seeing how things changed over the year and how God brought me from point A to point B.  I spent the morning at work, chilled at the hospital with my best friend, spent 3 hours at Best Buy trying to update our family’s cell phone plan, and had the largest. sushi. dinner. ever.  It was great, but these are reasons why the past year was even greater:

Healing. Recovery. A year ago today, I was stuck; completely sucked into the world of an eating disorder and every day was a struggle.  There was no light at the end of the tunnel in sight, and I honestly never thought I could recover. Thanks to God’s grace alone, and the help of a few special people, I can now say that I’m recovering.  Every day is a new step forward, even if it feels like a step back.  Health and happiness are my goals instead of starvation and bingeing.

The importance of family.  As I got sucked down the vortex of an ED life, I isolated myself and lost pretty much every single friend.  Friends that I would have done literally anything for. It was my fault, yet I blamed the world.  The good that came out of it?  I grew closer to my family.  It finally hit me that family are (most of the time) the people that will stand by you, stick up for you, and support you when the rest of the world doesn’t.

I discovered my passion for food, health, baking, and fitness.  It goes beyond wanting to be skinny, but it’s a lifestyle that I fell in love with because it allows me to enjoy life to the fullest.  In the future, I hope to pursue my desire to own a bakery and feed hungry children through it. Don’t ask me how, or when, but I feel like God places desires on our hearts that he wants us to pursue with everything we have.  After 20 years of searching, I think I’ve found mine.

Gifts aren’t my love language, but I did get some rockin’ ones.

Oh hallelujah sweet baby Jesus!  I hope it lives up to the hype and doesn’t disappoint.  Smoothies galore.

A birthday isn’t a birthday without circus animal cookies.  These things are only allowed in my pantry once a year because I inhale them like nobody’s business.  In fact, these are a make-it or break-it for me at froyo places.  If these white & pink babies aren’t a topping, screw the store!

**********

Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend and are enjoying your Sunday!

Favorite birthday gift ever?

13 Comments

Filed under ED thoughs

13 responses to “It’s my party, I can eat if I want to

  1. Happy birthday! What an incredible year for you. I’m so glad you found your passion. So neat that you want to open a bakery!
    Those animal cookies. Oh man I used to inhale those too! I wish my fro-yo place had those.

  2. YAY! So glad you had a happy marvelous birthday!!!! You got some wicked awesome gifts, I mean a magic bullet AND circus animal cookies??!?! I’m so jealous 😉 And, I’m with you on inhaling those babies, they don’t last very long in this house either…personally I think they’re filled with crack haha 😉

  3. Happy birthday! I am so happy you are doing so great and in an awesome place in your life right now !

  4. Happy belated birthday! Im so glad to see you have come so far. I remember when I was not doing well and I ruined my birthday because I couldn’t pick a cake. Food was so critical that it drove me to tears. Not a fun way to celebrate! That was like 3 years ago though and I’m happy to say its not a production any more. I’m so jealous of your nook!! I want one… They would make travel much easier!

  5. Happy Birthday girl! Don’t you love the love languages books, so great! Looks like you got lots of great gifts! I have a magic bullet and use it for alot of things. Mine is only a tiny set so I have another big blender too, but you have a 17 piece set so I’m sure that yours will do EVERYTHING you can imagine! Have fun 🙂

  6. Happy birthday, girl! Eee! I’m so happy for you 😀 I love looking back and being able to see how far I’ve come in a year, and I love that you’ve found so much happiness in the past year ^^ Recovery is truly an amazing thing… as is the Magic Bullet 😉 I have one, and use it pretty much everyday. It blends great and it’s super easy to clean. Enjoy all the delicious things you’ll be able to make with it 😀

  7. Ohh Happy Birthday to you!!! The magic bullet is such a handy tool when i just need something small. i think i i will get a lot of use out of mine in my dorm room this Fall! I bet you will love the Nook, too. I have a Kindle and think it makes reading a lot more fun!

  8. Happy Birthday! What incredible gifts you got!
    Birthday’s only come once a year yay for a little indulgence 🙂

  9. Just found your blog 🙂 SO happy I did–can’t wait to read more 😀

    happy belated birthday!!

  10. Meg

    This post makes my heart BEAM with love and happiness. Oh God is so good and when you let Him guide you, life will HAPPEN! Amen sista. Happy friggin’ birthday!!

  11. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Beautiful post, girl– very strong message.
    Without the grace of God I couldn’t have gotten through a lot of my hardships either. I’m glad we’ve both found our “balance” 🙂

  12. Beautiful post lady, and happy belated birthday to you! You have come so so far in a year and it is truly inspirational. Thank you for this wonderful and positive post 🙂

  13. Happy belated bday!!! I think its really important to look back and see how God has impacted our lives. I’m always suprised by how God has continued to bless me 🙂

Leave a Reply

