New kicks and licks

Thank you for all of your encouraging comments and helpful tips yesterday!  I’m glad I’m not the only one who is constantly frustrated by stuff like that 🙂

My money is better spent on food but sometimes a girls gotta splurge.


It’s been sitting in my pantry for a week now.  I was a giddy schoolgirl when I spotted it in the store, but was severely disappointed on my first attempt to make it.  After exploding all over the microwave, I turned bitter and boxed it back up for a day where I had a little more food patience.

Wasting food is like kicking a baby-it just won’t be happenin in my lifetime.  I gave this it another go this morning and ehhhhh.  Maybe I need some more creative oat bran ideas? HELP ME.  There are still like 20 servings in the box.

But it’s okay, because this perfectly-ripened banana topped with peanut butter frosting made up for the sucky bowl of mush that made me sweat.  So did yesterday’s Dark Chocolate Brownie Pancakes a la Katie

So I’ve been like 75% heartbroken lately, mostly because my life has turned into the real-life version of Just Friends. To.The.Tee. And I’m on the side you don’t want to be on.  Friend-zoned is now my middle name…

It’s nothing a little dessert can’t fix.  

Maybe this can’t fix the problem, but it can fix your sweet tooth.  I got this brilliant idea from Katie, and boy is she brilliant-peaches and almond milk, who knew?! Go make it!

—-

Quick Crunch Circuit
Do 30 secs of each move, and do the entire set as many times as you can
Bicycle crunch
Frog crunch
Reverse crunch
Indian-style crunch
Toe touch
Right oblique crunch
Left oblique crunch

Question: Do you have any good oat bran recipes?
Favorite chickflick?? 

14 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Daily Eats, Workouts

14 responses to “New kicks and licks

  1. Wicked sweet kicks my friend! 🙂
    I couldn’t help but chuckle a bit about the exploding oat bran, that’s happened to me so much haha
    Before my oat allergy discovery, I loved using it to make overnight oats with Greek yogurt and nut butter. Also, if I was too lazy to cook, I loved adding a couple of tablespoons to a smoothie, it really adds tasty thickness! 😀

  2. Love the new shoes, girl! Makes me feel like I need a pair of Nike’s in my life. I’ve been cheating with Brooks and Asics for too long now 😯 As for the oat bran, you can use it to make bran muffins. Orrrr you can mix it with oatmeal. Do like 1/4 cup oats and 1/4 cup bran. And I would def. try Alex’s suggestion to add it to smoothies.

  3. Did you try cooking oat bran on the stove? I find that it works better than the microwave because you can control the consistency better. Otherwise, muffins make everything better. 🙂 Love the new shoes, by the way!

  4. Loving those shoes! So cute and I love the colors 🙂
    I have never used oat bran before but have it i my pantry just like you do! I think I am going to try it in a smoothie like alex suggested

  5. I agree with Amanda on the oat bran. I’ve been using wheat bran and I love it. I haven’t tried the oat bran but I know when I use wheat bran (I think they’re sort of similar?!) I do like 2-3tbsp wheat bran + 1/4 cup oatmeal. depends on how much you like it.
    Love the new shoes 🙂

  6. I LOVE the movie Just Friends! Ryan Renolds is so sexy. Like the new shoes, and the quote!! 🙂

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m sorry you’re heartbroken, girlie 😦

    If it makes you feel any better– those shoes are pretty baller!

  8. Those shoes look so amazing!! I need some new shoes BAD!!
    My favorite chick flick would have to be A Walk To Remember or any with matthew mcconaughey, simply because he is smokin 😉

  9. new shoes, nice choice!!!
    I’ve never oat bran before sorry can’t help you out there.

  10. Errign

    I’ve never made anything with oatbran, so I think I’m no help!

    And the whole just friends thing – story of my lifeeeee.

  11. Julia

    sleepless in seattle!!!!!!! my mom and I watch it like every month! I love mixing oat bran with oatmeal on the stove- it gives a neat texture!

  12. i love new shoes!! That is the best way to motivate me to go workout haha. Oatbran is sooo good! I like to make add egg whites in white it’s cooking. It really puffs it up nicely and makes it even more creamy. loooove. 🙂

  13. Aww thank you for the shout out, beautiful girl!!!! AHHHH love your shows so so much! I just got some nike frees too!!! oatbran is good mixed with oats-the texture rocks 🙂 and u can make muffins out of it ! love you!

  14. I love How to Lose a Guy in 10 days!!! What I do with oatbran is use 2 tbsps of it and 1/4 cup of rolled oats, cook in microwave with 1.5 cups water for 4 minutes, then let sit in closed microwave for 5 minutes, then let sit in the fridge overnight uncovered. best overnight oats ever!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

