I put mayonnaise & butter on my cornflakes y’all!

Phew, I survived my first day of classes…not that there was much to survive through.  There was alot of this:

Reading and snackage.  And not a whole lotta work.  Done at 1:30?  Yes please. Although I know later in the semester the afternoons will be reserved for study time and such, it was nice to come straight home, prop my feet up and relax.

Besides the dogs peeing multiple times on our new carpet, and waking up super early only to  realize I didn’t actually have a class at 8:00 AM, the morning started off swell:

Enough about school.  On Saturday, I was able to go to a private pastry-making class where I learned all the dirty tricks and tips that real bakers live by.  Thank you Sur la Table!

Personal apple pies (fall, come now), blackberry & nectarine galettes, and macadamia nut brittle were on the menu and in my tummy.

macadamia nut brittle - reminds me of Christmas

the galette - SUPER DELICIOUS

We learned to make the perfect pie dough and made all of our goodies from the same recipe.  The class definitely peaked my interest in baking professionally even more.  I’ll be posting the pie dough recipe soon because everyone needs to try it.  It might rock your world.

Naturally I have to [quickly] relate this back to recovery. 😉

1) Butter is not only OKAY but it is GOOD.  Give me olive, coconut, sunflower seed oil, but don’t touch me with a stick of butter.  I don’t even remember the last time I cooked with butter-sad!  Sometimes you have to go all out and have the real thing (in small quantities of course).  Besides, butter is what makes the consistency and flavor of real pastries so perfect.  I realized it’s time to get over my incessant fear of using that creamy substance because we used a boat load. My homegirl Paula Deen would have been proud.

2) The class interrupted my mid-afternoon snack.  Crazy right?!  I snuck a bag of kettle corn in from home just in case, but how disgusting would it be if I was shoveling food down my throat and then digging my fingers into a community pastry?  I started feeling faint, fungry, and famished…which got me thinking…how in the world did I ever live like that on a daily basis?  How did I survive while denying my body food?  There are still days when I’m tempted to eat less or not at all, but that was a huge wake up call.  It. was. miserable. to not have food in mah belly!

Butter is good.  Food is good.  

———-

Do you cook with butter a lot?  
Favorite kind of pie?  Cinnamon apple or sweet potato pie.  Ohmygosh I can’t wait for the holidays.

 

21 Comments

Filed under Baking, Blogging, ED thoughs

21 responses to “I put mayonnaise & butter on my cornflakes y’all!

  1. Allie

    I LOVE Paula Deen! I use butter when I bake 🙂 I’m so jealous you got to take a pastry class!

  2. Apple pie and galette look gorgeous! Apple pies are one of my personal favorite’s! Sad to say I haven’t cooked with butter in a long long time.This post made me realize I’m still taking baby steps in overcoming fear foods…I think ill be baking something with butter stat! When you post the pie dough ill attempt that 🙂

    Hope the rest of your week of classes are not too stressful!

  3. Yipee! So glad your first day rocked and holy crap all of those baked goods look so good! I’m actually not a pie fan, but that macadamia nut brittle? Yes please, get in my tummy 😀
    I’m the same way with classes that conflict with snacks, I almost always have to whip out some kind of food or else I get fidgety and evil, my stomach turns into the loch ness monster haha

  4. Amy Lauren

    All those baked goods look super yummy :). I sometimes use butter when I cook too, it just depends. I usually don’t use as much as recipes call for, though. I think it’s okay in small quantities, but not in everything, ya know?

  5. I love it when I get hit by realizations of just how good recovery is. I remember avoiding butter like the plague too, and then trying it for the first time on some toast. So simple, but so delicious. Or spaghetti noodles with butter and parmesan cheese! One of my favorite meals as a child, and I still love it now 😀 As for pies, I’d have to say that apple cinnamon is my favorite, so I’m looking forward to the upcoming months because apples are just starting to come into season.

  6. I wish Paula Deen was my grandma! Not in place of the lovely one I have, but in addition to somehow 🙂 haha
    I used to avoid butter too, like wouldn’t approach it if my life depended on it (which it sort of did…) but I am getting more comfortable with consuming it and boy does butter taste yummy
    Apple cinnamon, blueberry and anything chocolate is a favorite pie of mine! Although sweet potato is a great choice as well

  7. I never cook with butter because of the hydrogenated oils in it, but if I had some that didnt have that stuff in it I’d use it more 🙂 And just because I dont use it doesnt mean I dont eat stuff with it in there!! At restaurants I never shy away from a meal or a dessert because of the butter in there. Its my treat, so I dont care 🙂
    Peach cobbler is my favorite. My gma made the best, using fresh peaches from her back yard 🙂

  8. Jen

    I love using butter when I scramble eggs. I also love it on toast with jam. Butter rocks! And I love the idea of macadamia nut brittle. I’ve only ever had peanut brittle.

  9. Rachel

    i totally feel you on the “how did i ever eat less than this”. it happens to me daily! sometimes it’s hard to deal with, cuz i feel like i’m eating a ton. other times, i’m just so glad i have an improved relationship with food. i LOVE caramel apple pie and pecan pie 🙂 fall is the bestttt

  10. I don’t use butter a lot, but I will always choose to use butter over margarine or hydrogenated oils. But you are right, a little butter never hurt anybody!

  11. YAY for overcoming fear foods!! Good for you!!!! 🙂

  12. oh my gosh! I know how you feel about not being able to make it through class without food. I was all how did I survive?! I really WAS miserable! It makes me appreciate every day so much more now.
    BUTTER IS A WONDERFUL THING. It really makes everything taste better.

  13. OMG!
    Done by 1:30pm?! Pastry class?!?!
    Please adopt me! Hahahaha 😉
    Great pictures! I’m sure you’ve had a blast, and that all those pies and sweets tasted AMAZING!
    Have a great Wednesday, girl!
    xoxoxo

  14. It looks like you made lots of tasty sweets in your pasty class! I get frustrated when my morning snack gets interrupted, but that’s good you were able to use it to reflect on the past 🙂

  15. Errign

    I don’t really love sweet pies, but I like chicken pot pie etc, even though I never eat it.

    I don’t use butter a ton, but I do love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

