WIAW with a purpose

 It’s Wednesday, naw meen?!  Thanks Jenn for hosting another fabulours WIAW!My eats have been less adventuresome than they were this summer when I had all the time in the world to prep.  This is what I’ve been living off of since school started.  Easy.  Quick.  Tastay.

sweet potatoes with maple & ground flaxseed, sauteed spinach, fresh apple

2 egg whites with broccoli, spinach, cottage cheese, salsa, avocado, Morningstar veggie burger

many overnight oats in a blender with frozen bananas and pb - favorite breakfast

sweet potatoes with almond butter & cinnamon

breakfast cookie dough cereal w/almond butter, raisins and frozen blueberries

greek yogurt messes

and lottssss of cereal!———-This is totally not WIAW-related, and I don’t want to sound too preachy but this has been on my heart constantly lately!  “and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live.  God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each of us.” – Acts 17:26I know for me, I am not happy with where I am physically [located] right now.  I constantly question “is this really where I’m supposed to be”?  Because really, I’m a firm believer in liking the town where you choose to go to college!  I try to maintain a positive attitude, but that doesn’t change the fact that I straight up don’t like it here.  This verse hit me hard.  I know that it wasn’t a mistake or a coincidence that I chose to come here.  Although I don’t like it, there is a greater purpose behind it that hopefully one day will be so clear.  After reading numerous blogs, I realize I’m not the only one who feels completely lost, unsure if this is the right move and place, etc.  But know that there is a reason for where you are and what you’re doing.  God’s timing is so perfect, so trust it!———-Have a happy happy Wednesday and after today, we’re on the downslope to the weekend 😀Favorite ways to eat sweet potatoes?  I like mine steamed in the microwave topped with maple syrup and almond butter.  Sweet tater fries, in smoothies, etc…but I need to jazz them up every once in a while!

22 Comments

Filed under Blogging, College, Daily Eats, Life

22 responses to “WIAW with a purpose

  1. Amy Lauren

    Your food looks so yummy :).

    Don’t worry, you’re not being preachy. That’s an awesome verse.

  2. Yay for WIAW! I am so happy i’m not the only person in the world who likes eggs + salsa!!! I call them southwestern eggs haha — sounds fancy 😉 I also like to use salsa on plain baked potatoes…. give it a try some time if you ever get a chance!!

    LOVE the Bible verse! That pertains to me SOOO much right now! If you don’t like where you are you can come to Pittsburgh and visit/come to school with me 😉 Seriously though…. 🙂

    Have a GREAT Wednesday!

  3. jenandberries

    I’m sorry to hear you aren’t too keen on where you are atm <3, but that verse is fab, it really explains things. I can so relate to the feeling of being lost, I think most people enjoy being in control of things but you are so right about just trusting God 😉 thanks for putting this out there!!
    Sheeeeez I so need to try this breakfast cookie dough, yours looks soooo good. Chilled in the fridge and mixed with sweetened greek yogurt and cinnamon is my favourite way with sweet tattys! Happy WIAW!

    • Oh yummm I never even though to chill the taters.
      It totally is about control too, but it’s awesome to see how big God is when we let go of controlling everything and let Him do his thang!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    What a great verse, and one of my personal favorites.

    Sometimes its difficult to differentiate our OWN will from the will of God. I am very guilty myself of questioning my own happiness and my place in life. We need to keep reminding ourselves that He has a bigger plan for us and knows exactly why we’re at the point we are!
    Stay strong, girlie ❤

  5. It’s definitely a tough thing to deal with when thing aren’t going our way, or we aren’t satisfied with something at the present moment, but I truly believe that all of our experiences, good and bad, serve a higher purpose, and that we just have to have faith and believe that God is leading us i the right direction, because He knows what’s best for us… sometimes we think we might know what we want, when in reality, it wouldn’t be good for us. God knows, so we have to put everything in His hands 🙂 Easier said than done, I know, but it’s comforting to know that we have a Father who’s always looking out for us.

    • “sometimes we think we might know what we want, when in reality, it wouldn’t be good for us.” YES…and even though I know that in my mind from past experience, it’s still hard to apply that to the here and now. But you’re completely right!

  6. DUDE magic bullets are the BOMB! 😀 And so are all of your eats mmm
    I also loved what you have to say about God’s timing, I’m kinda freaked out because I have a lot going on in my life pertaining to that–it was just what I needed to hear so THANK YOU 🙂
    And girl, you know my favorite way to eat a sweet tater–SMOOTHIE!! 😛

  7. kat

    Great post girl. We always need to remember that regardless how lost or out of control we feel, God has the reines and will never let us stray. If we let Him have control, He will lead us according to His will, and it will be a beautiful journey 🙂

  8. Such yummy eats!
    But I specially loved the non-WIAW related part! Awesome observation 🙂
    Hope you’re having a wonderful Wednesday, love!
    xoxo
    P.S.: I eat my sweet ‘taters baked! Nothing compares, haha 😉

  9. Girl I love my sweet taters anyway!! But lately it’s been with cottage cheese and almond butter. I think that verse is perfect. there’s a plan for a reason 🙂 I hope the town grows on you!

  10. You are not being preachy at all… just give it time where you are and you could grow to really enjoy it. Having said that, there is nothing wrong with moving and changing your locations if that is what is what you feel is best for you! I transferred from the University of Vermont to UMASS after my freshman year and it remains to be one of the greatest decisions I have never made. You can always change, but giving it an honest chance is the first step

    • It’s good to know that you transferred and ended up loving your decision…I think my biggest hesitation in transferring is 1) I’d have to be in school even longer since I’ve already completed so many credits here and 2) I worry that the next school will put me in an even worse situation. But I do need to give it an honest chance instead of always hating on it here!

  11. blissfulbritt

    DROOOOOOL! Such delicious food!

  12. Great eats for wiaw!
    I love the bible verse you put up there. Your faith is so strong and makes me realize how neglectful I’ve been with my own. Lately ill be in church but not really actively listening. I’ve got to let go and put all my trust in God 🙂

  13. wow, that was EXACTLY what I needed to hear right about now. I am in the same situation, girl. It’s not easy. I miss the comfort and familiarity of home. It can be scary. But I know God has amazing plans for both of us!! If you ever want to talk, let me know. I can totally relate to you!

    • I am SO glad we can relate..and would absolutely love to talk! I remember so well my freshman year and the difficulties of adjusting. God DOES have amazing plans, we just need to rest in that.

Leave a Reply

