September goals

First, thank you SO much for all of your encouraging comments yesterday!  It’s nice to have people to relate to and I’m so thankful for this community and your honesty! 😀

I must say I’m quite impressed with my diligence in cranking out a post every day so far despite a busy schedule.  Let’s see how long I can keep this up, shall we?

Happy September!

It should look like this outside.  Instead, the days still fall in the 100-degree range and the landscape is brown, aka dead.  But I’m not bitter.  Because a new month means fresh goals!

August goals recap:

  • went out of comfort zone many times – be it staying out late, actually going out, going on yet another trip with no guarantee of exercise, moving back to school

  • conquer the weight room at the school rec center – did NOT happen because GOOD NEWS: I joined a new gym!  This is my first paid gym experience, and it’s been worth it so far.  It even has a ladies’ room that some of you mentioned, so all of the fear is gone.  [the eye candy in the main gym doesn’t totally suck either]
  • followed a new split strength training plan & loved working my individual muscles hardcore

Sunday: legs
Monday: back & abs
Tuesday: chest & shoulders
Wednesday: OFF
Thursday: back & hamstrings
Friday: shoulders, bis & tris
Saturday: OFF

  •  grocery budget – much success on my first [food] shopping spree, filled an empty fridge and pantry for under $50 ! and that’s including spices, flours, etc


  • rested alot – in Asheville, took a few days off here and there after I moved in

September goals: 

1) Focus on abs more – devote 3 days a week to a full ab routine.  Gotta get that 6-pack in time for the winter! 😉

2) Try a new recipe – send me your favorite!  Time isn’t on my side during the school year so I won’t have time to make all the goodies I want.  ONE recipe is my goal.  Sounds easy, yet I know if I don’t make it a goal, it won’t be happenin

3) Join an organization – I’ve joined my fair share of groups and clubs since coming to college, but haven’t found my “niche” yet.  THIS is the semester, I can feel it!

4)  Stretch daily – I’m super bad about stretching, yet I have a desire to do the splits at some point in my life.  Even if it’s just for a few minutes while catching up with my roomies or taking a study break, I am declaring stretching a MUST.

5) Wake up 5 minutes early every morning for prayer time – it’s crazy how fast prayer gets pushed to dead last on the to-do list of mine every day.  5 minutes is nothing and really, should be much longer.

———-

Any recipe suggestions?  Specifically ones with pumpkin since it’s *officially* time for me to start celebrating fall despite the wicked temps

Are you in/have you been in any organizations?  I’ve tried just about everything – from intramurals to bible studies to all girls organizations to community service groups. Obviously I’m hard to please 😀

18 Comments

Filed under Blogging, College, Life

18 responses to “September goals

  1. Great September goals I’m sure you’ll achieve all of them!
    Number 1 & 5 on your list is definitely on my list for this month 🙂
    I’ve been really wanting to try out this Pumpkin Pie Banana Chunk Oatmeal Cookies recipe! http://ohsheglows.com/2010/08/06/pumpkin-pie-banana-chunk-oatmeal-cookies/

  2. sounds like some great goals! I’ve also been loving the more muscle specific workouts 🙂 I’m also terrible with ab workouts! I don’t know what it is but I can never convince myself to do abs more than once or twice a week.. it’s like by the time I get to it I’m too tired to do abs haha!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I need to join you on this budgeting goal. I go to store 15 times a week up at school! Its horrible haha 😦

  4. Awesome job on the goals and congrats on the new gym membership and grocery budget! I’m diggin your new goals too, especially #4 and #5, prayer stretching= amazing start to any day. 🙂
    Happy September!

  5. Awesome September goals! I’m loving the prayer time in morning one! I’m trying to make it a habit to pray when I wake up, I feel like it makes an amazing start to the day 🙂

  6. You rocked August, girlie! I need to work on my lifting routine this month and come up with a plan that works better for me. I’ve been doing full body workouts but they just leave me too exhausted all the time, and I don’t think my muscles have enough time to heal between workouts, even though I take a day off in between each. Anywho, I hope September will be just as awesome for you. If you’re looking for pumpkin recipes, I’ll be posting my favorite pumpkin soup either today or tomorrow, which is just perfect for Fall 😀

  7. blissfulbritt

    These goals rock! I can’t wait to start making food with pumpkin!

  8. Amy Lauren

    Aww, I love your goals! Good luck with joining an organization, that definitely sounds like a fun one :). And trying new recipes is great, there are tons out there on blogs and I really like doing the ones I find on blogs rather than cookbooks- feel more of a connection to the blogger :).

    Love that picture! Doesn’t look or feel like Fall here either though!

  9. jenandberries

    Loving those goals! Can I join you with the stretching one?! I’m awful at that. Aw yay or resting and fun trips – what’s the point in having a healthy body if you can’t go out and enjoy yourself in it eh? You could try this recipe maybe – http://edibleperspective.com/2010/01/playing-ketch-up/ – looks sooo good. Can’t wait to see what you come up with, bring on the pumpkin seasons!!!

  10. These are some really great goals! I really need to work on stretching more too- I couldn’t even touch my toes this morning (and I always can)! I hate stretching but it’s beneficial.
    &congrats on stepping out of your comfort zone! I admire you for it! It’s really hard to do that.

  11. Oh my gosh- I was totally that girl who joined EVERY organization on campus at first. I’ve finally narrowed it down to just a few that I love and I’ve really found my niche. I didn’t really accomplish this until my third year of college. What year are you?

    I love your goals! I’m trying to work on abs, too…not sure if they’ll be useful for the winter haha 🙂

  12. runningonapples

    Great job with the goals! Try pumpkin bread or just dump pumpkin in everything like oatmeal, yogurt, smoothies…..=)

  13. A blog a day is very impressive and so are your goals.

Leave a Reply

