Savory Pancakes

If you like weird foods, this is the pancake for you.  Now that I’m used to “cooking” I typically throw a few ingredients together and say a little prayer that it will come out edible.  Pancakes for lunch midday snack?

I sincerely apologize for my lack of photography skills!  My camera is MIA-what else is new-so I’m left just my phone.  Yes, it looks like it came straight out of a baby’s diaper but I promise it doesn’t taste like so 😉

Spinach in my smoothies is not okay with me [unfortunately] but spinach in pancakes is my new fav addition.  I topped these with pumpkin butter because the thought of not having something sweet at a meal scares me.  Without the pumbutter, they are the perfect savory pancake and were so wonderful with a side of eggs & sauteed veggies (that may or may not be going old.)

Savory Pancakes

Blend 1 serving of protein powder [I used chocolate rice protein powder], 2 Tbsp quick oats, 1/2 tsp baking powder, dash of sea salt, hunk of cinnamon, 1 egg white, 1 cup spinach and enough milk to get the right “pancake” consistency (~1/4 cup).

Cook like pancakes and top with whatever!  Cottage cheese/salsa mixture? Nut butter? Greek yogurt? or anything you can possibly think of.

———-

My tests are THROUGH so I’m ready to enjoy the weekend!  Tonight I’m having much needed girls night at the mall & watching Bridesmaids, midnight yell and tomorrow I’ll be at the A&M-OSU game!  Then I’m headed home to reunite with my brother and get in some sweet fam time.  Enjoy your weekend! 😀

What are your weekend plans?
Best part of your week?

 

11 Comments

Filed under Baking, College, Daily Eats

11 responses to “Savory Pancakes

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yey for tests being over! I’m home for the weekend too, so I feel your excitement 😀 Have a great Friday!

  2. Woo for pancakes and the weekend! I just got done with my tests too holla! Sounds like you have a wicked awesome weekend ahead of ya, have fun sista 😀

  3. Woo congrats on getting through the week! I have never made savory pancakes before! How terrible I know!

  4. WOO the week is OVA!!! 😀 I like those pancakes, gunna have to save that recipe to make!
    Have a great (much needed) friday night 🙂

  5. I’ve never thought of making a savory pancake before but I’ll try it! 🙂

  6. Savory pancakes something I’ve never tried or ordered at restaurants! Bookmarking your recipe 🙂
    Best part of the week for me was when Wednesday rolled round…because then it’s halfway till the weekend 😉

  7. ooh spinach pancakes! it kind of reminds me of that greek spinach pie thing! I bet they’d be great topped with greek yogurt, tomatoes, and black olives…

    Your weekend sounds so fun! You definitely deserve it after a rough week :). I’m pretty much just spending my weekend packing up, moving out, and driving home – and couldn’t be happier about it!

  8. I love throwing random stuff together! Have fun tonight..let the relaxation begin!

  9. survivingcandyland

    Savory pancakes. Def something I must try. A&M! My older brother went there for undergrad and grad school. I used to go there all the time to visit him. Football is so intense here in Texas. I love going to college games. I hope A&M wins!

  10. Those pancakes sound really good! I’m a lover of both sweet and savory for breakfast 🙂

  11. Glad your tests are over!! I always got so stressed out over those (well those and papers!!)

Leave a Reply

